the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

All the Other Kids Were Doing It 1285

11.07.2006

4:14 pm





Your Vote Score: 6% Republican, 94% Democrat



You fit well with the Democrat party, and you should almost definitely vote Democrat this election.

In fact, you're so strongly Democrat, a political career (or at least some activism )may be in your future.

The only surprise here is that I came up any percent Republican at all. This is because of the question about legalizing all drugs, including marijuana. While I do believe that marijuana should be legal as long as alcohol is, I don't think all drugs should be legalized. So I checked "disagree" instead of "strongly disagree." Ergo.

It's 2:30 at the moment, and I'm home because K had to pick me up at 2:00 so she could get to work on time. R is on her way home from Newark Airport as we speak, and when she gets here, she will take me to vote.

My adventure of the morning is that the Other Chai, having stopped to vote on the way to school -- she teaches the government classes, btw -- forgot to pick me up. I called school at 7:30, but the person I told that I needed a ride forgot to tell anyone. I called back at 8:00 (having hoped until then that the O.C. would still be coming for me), and they sent the lovely lady from the attendance office for me. I then spoke briefly to Mr. My-Door, who is frankly a little overwhelmed by the opening of the new building and all that entails, but it does seem that the books et al. will be coming back perhaps next Tuesday or Wednesday. As of then, I think we will be working over there and will be out of the library in exile, but I can't really be sure how that's all working out. They'll also have to move our minimal stuff out of exile with us, but our own custodians will be doing that. Then we'll have a month or so to settle in, find a place for everything, and bring in everything from the one store room we kept all this time, and for which there is absolutely no place where we're going. Hmm. Sure wish I could walk.

To be continued ...

It's about 4:15. We have voted, all four of us, first time ever all in person in the same place on the same day. For whatever that's worth.

But first, we went to the police station to get me a temporary handicapped parking tag. First, the handicapped entrance has been removed from the building for renovation. I marched up a ramp of death -- scary angle -- to knock on a locked door, feeling very Dorothy-at-the-gates-of-Oz. A disembodied voice asked what I wanted. I tried to explain, R said it a little clearer, and then the voice -- a police officer, I presume -- said that all the office were closed today for election day. Come back tomorrow.

Uh huh. And the dump is closed on Thanksgiving.

So maybe I will go back tomorrow or maybe not. If I can drive on Thursday, I'll try to go then. They sure don't make this easy.

R, meanwhile, left her driver's license in South Carolina. It's being overnighted and will be here tomorrow, but if she gets stopped by a cop between now and then, I guess she'll just have to say that she tried to report it, but the police department was closed for election day.

I am so tired. I apologize to all the people I should have been commenting to in recent days; I just can't seem to get it together. It's as if I can't get out of my own way.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Oprah
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here