the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Monday 1284

11.06.2006

6:37 pm


So it's still Monday. Another fine day at the mental institution. I'm down to one crutch, although I brought both with me today because I didn't know I could manage with just one until I did it. So I still had to tote both of them from time to time, just to be sure.

And then, a teacher came in with her class 8th period and said to the SCM and me: "Is there a fire drill this period?"

To my credit, I did not scream an astonished "SHIT!" I did call the nurses' office and ask if they knew anything about a fire drill -- they always know about planned ones in advance, because ... -- anyway, this year's new nurse said yes, she knew about it. Once again, shit. Why do the nurses need to know about fire drills in advance? So they can get anyone on crutches or in a wheelchair downstairs on the elevator before, since you can't use elevators during a fire drill. (Or during a fire, for that matter.)

I ran as fast as my little leg would carry me down to the elevator, and then took up a position just inside the main door, the only one with a ramp outside it, and then I stood there for ten freaking minutes until they rang the bell. So I made it, but I was pissed.

And then at the faculty meeting after school, Mr. My-Door announced, among other things, that all the books and things were being returned to the media center next week.

Uh .. what?

So that's how I found out. I guess we'll discuss the details tomorrow. Maybe.

The SCM dropped me off at home after the meeting. He really has been wonderful throughout this whole broken leg thing. I'd like to think of some token thank you gift I can give both him and the Other Chai, who's given me rides and brought me coffee. Any thoughts, feel free to send them my way.

So, home, and I watched Oprah, which had this very inspirational person on it, a teenager who's a survivor of the Rwandan genocide and who won an essay contest about Elie Wiesel's Night and its relevance to today, and then she was asked to speak to a group of Holocaust survivors at the Holocaust Museum.

Then K came home and we went to pick up some McD's for dinner -- I haven't been outside at night for weeks, certainly not since the clocks changed -- and I got a Big Mac, which was good, but for the life of me I cannot remember everything that comes on a Big Mac. I was sure that the jingle was burned forever into my brain:

Two all beef patties special sauce lettuce cheese pickles ---- on a sesame seed bun.

Is it onions? Is the missing word onions? But I don't eat onions, and I didn't taste any, and I don't remember there being onions on them when I used to eat them years ago. Is it onions on a sesame seed bun? Or what?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here