the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Is This How It Works? 1290

11.11.2006

6:54 pm


The Sibs and I were discussing before that it appears that things are coming together for most of our children all at once. Niece passed the bar, and is looking at two possible job offers. The job R interviewed for is a real grown up job, with benefits and everything, and a great salary, and she is encouraged by their response to her so far. Good Guy nephew is newly engaged, and has a line on a better job than he has now. K is waiting to hear that she's officially in grad school, but will certainly get in, and will no doubt get a real job teaching in a year or so when that's done. And my sister's youngest, Little K, 16, has gotten his first girlfriend.

We were saying that we really don't know how to parent these kinds of offspring (except Little K), since it's all new to us.

Some of it is still up in the air, anyway, so I don't suppose we should start resting on our laurels just yet. Or celebrate. But I must admit, R getting a job like this keeps my retirement on track for June 2009, I hope. Can't retire if I'm still keeping my kids alive, can I?

In other news, I did laundry today, several loads, which means I went up and down the basement steps several times. Cleaned up a bunch of other areas as well. My knee actually feels okay; it's the brace over it that annoys me sometimes. But I'd better get used to it, because I think I'm going be wearing this one for a good long time. It's like an elastic sleeve with a hole over the kneecap, and a firm donut-shaped thing under the hole that keeps the kneecap in place. There's a strip of some firm material along each side of the brace, but flexible enough to let my knee bend some. But the donut thing sometimes presses the kneecap uncomfortably, and it's so snug in the back -- in what we in the this house call "the knee pit" -- that I've got a big bruise there. But I know it's fitted properly and it's doing what it's supposed to. The fact that I can go up and down stairs is the proof. And drive, of course.

All six Star Wars movies are running today on some cable channel; we're near the end of part 1, which is really the fourth movie. Right? The one with Jar-Jar Binks. I cannot believe how flawed this movie is. I've seen this one before, and part of the next one, and the last 30 minutes of the one after that, maybe three times. The part where Anakin turns into Darth Vader. (No spoiler alert needed for that one, I guess.) We'll see how long I last with this. I like to watch what I call (in a most un-P.C. manner) the dwarf show at 8:00; I can never remember the real title. Little People, Big Something or Other, I think. Anybody else watch that? It's a reality/documentary show about a family in which both parents and one of the four children are little people, that is, people with one form or another of dwarfism. On the Discovery Channel, I think. I got hooked last year, and this is the second season.

K is in cake-baking mode today, and my house smells wonderful. I expect that I will be enjoying her creations later in the evening. I believe that the one she made for home -- the other is for a gathering at work tomorrow -- is some sort of milk-chocolate bundt pound cake. She's a real cake whiz, but when she's in baking mode, it's not so much good for me, y'know?

Okay, posting, and then going into the kitchen to view the cake.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SW 1: The Phantom Menace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here