the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Better. Yet Not Worse. 1296

11.18.2006

3:47 pm


Just to let you know that although I am still among the morose, I am still among. It's less intense today -- I don't have the knot in my stomach -- but still dominates my thoughts from time to time. (Okay, most of the time.) I did all my food shopping this morning, and was irritated that I couldn't just enjoy it, as I do every year, because the whole thing seemed so pointless. I got lots of other things done, including getting some Christmas ornaments for my sister's grown kids, which I do since they are married and/or engaged, all of them to non-Jewish folk, and therefore they have Christmas trees, as I do. (For most of the twins' childhood, they had a non-Jewish step-father, and so having a Christmas tree was part of their childhood, too.)

Anyway, I understand exactly where my sister is coming from; I am only upset/angry that she feels the need to impose her own particular idiosyncracy/neurosis on other people. As my mother did. My mother's OCD was never an issue until she became otherwise ill, and couldn't walk around and satisy her compulsions, so she made other people do it for her. (The famous "Can you get me another quarter inch of water in my glass? Not a half inch, that's too much. Just a quarter inch.") My sister has other issues and they are causing this whole Thanksgiving fiasco, but besides me and my family, she has four children of her own who eagerly anticipate Thanksgiving every year, one of whom is driving down from New England with her husband and little baby just to be with us all. My sister allowing her own fears to control everybody else is just not right. Everyone is entitled to be who they are, but there comes a time, especially when you are a parent, when you have to suck it up and make it through the day for your children. Am I right?

Besides which, let me just say, there is no actual reason for her to be overwhelmed by this meal. After all, she is retired. It's not as if she has to go to work all week and then come home exhausted and do this. Oh wait, that's me. Right.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Bilko disc 3
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here