the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Different Day 1312

12.04.2006

7:23 pm


Do you know what this is? Do ya? Huh? Huh?

Yes, it's my CAR! My Buddy! He's home, home at last. I haven't had the guts yet to roll down the window, but as long as the window is up, everything's fine with me. K took me to pick him up on the way home from school this afternoon, and now, baby, I got wheels!

Well, now. Ahem. I admit that I became unnaturally excited at the notion of having my car back. I'm better now.

In other news, tomorrow after school, the Sibs and I are going over to the county courthouse to see Wonderful Niece get sworn into the Bar and become an honest-to-god lawyer. I'm telling you, if my father were here, he wouldn't believe it even if he saw it. He'd be beaming from ear to ear, but he wouldn't believe it.

The library is starting to shape up nicely, although I'm still reserving judgement until I see it in action. The SCM is reading all the shelves, which is to say, he's making sure that the books are in order, checking that the movers put them back in the right place. So far, so good. I've been putting out the signage, marking the library sections, posting hours, and so on. I've been unpacking the boxes of supplies and trying to find places to put them. I'm expecting a shipment of books next week, and we're also doing freshman library orientation next week, so it looks like busy from here on in. **sigh** Yes.

I feel like I've been complaining a lot lately, not just here, but in life. It would be nice to get out of that mode. I'm not saying I'm running right out and doing that -- it's a big change -- but at least I'm looking in that direction. Oh, I'm not smoking again, btw. I like smoking, I like it very much, but I ran out of smokes last Wednesday night and I haven't bought any more. I'm just saying.

Okay, I'm posting now. I have more hypothetical medical conditions to look up on the Internet.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Jeopardy
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here