the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

School is ... Improving 1319

12.11.2006

6:56 pm


Oh, I hope I don't have to eat those words. Things are moving along. It's very nice to have a library again, and it is a nice, warm atmosphere, the way I would have wanted it to be. It's not done yet, but it will be. I had two classes in this morning and enjoyed them thoroughly. I seem to have settled into a very pleasant working relationship with Mr. My-Door, at least for now.

But a very weird thing happened today, and a similar thing or two has happened earlier this year, and I'm finding myself in an odd position. I'll try to sum it up.

We have a new assistant Mr. My-Door, which is to say -- without coming out and saying it -- a veep of sorts, an individual of, as Colonel Potter would say, the feminine gland, who has never held this position before. She's very earnest and sincere, and sometimes does things without thinking them through, certainly without seeing them from an administrative point of view. Today, moments after the SCM left for lunch -- he has first lunch, I have second -- a student came in, an absolutely lovely girl who has volunteered for us in the library many times over her years in the school. She showed me a drop/add slip that said she was now taking the library service course; she was assigned to a class in the library with the SCM as her teacher. The only thing is, we're not offering that class this year and it's his lunch period. Upon investigation, it was the veep who made this change, re-activating the course without even telling us. Now, for one, it's got to be switched to me, and for another, the woman just changed my working assignment for the year without telling me, which is, let me tell you, a violation of our contract.

Ooooh, contract stuff. Now, here's the problem.


  1. This woman needs to know that this is a no-no, labor-relations-wise, and she can't keep doing stuff like this. I'm not the first one this year.

  2. I do not want to be responsible for a student's daily attendance and grades. This is one of the reasons we discontinued the class; it's not consistent with running a library.

  3. I don't know how to use the school's record-keeping program (to enter attendance and grades) because I've never needed to know it. Now I have to learn, for one kid.

  4. Written mid-terms and final exams are required for all courses in the school. No way I can devise an entire curriculum of written work for one kid. Another reason -- the main one, actually -- that we discontinued the course.

  5. This kid is a GEM. She is smart and responsible and reliable. Having her there to help out for one period a day is actually a godsend.

  6. The kid needed her schedule changed for a variety of legitimate reasons. There is no place else for her to go.

  7. If I tell anyone in the union, they will go crazy and fuck this up, screwing over the kid totally, as well as taking away much-needed help for me.

  8. If I tell anyone at all, it's likely to get back to the union, at which point, see previous item

  9. The woman who caused the problem could dump any kid on us at anytime now, even though she tells me she won't, including kids that have to be watched and are discipline problems, and whose presence would make it impossible for us to do our actual work, or work of any kind.

Well. I feel better now. Have I said too much? Am I getting fired now? Let's hope not, anyway. An entry perhaps to be deleted on the morrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Reba
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here