the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Shifting 1320

12.12.2006

5:50 pm


Here's a secret ... shhhh! I love moving furniture.

I rarely do it anymore, since everything is pretty much fixed in place, but R and I just looked over the living room and shuffled everything around to make room for the Christmas tree. Some folks are going to be pretty surprised when they get home later. Hee.

Yesterday's school problem is in a holding pattern; today's school problems are minor and ongoing and are completely to do with our new secretary who is either a drama queen or truth-challenged, not sure yet which. There is also the other secretary who makes snide comments about ... well, lots of people, I guess, but me too -- behind my back, but it always gets back to me, and I just want to slap her face. I miss The Colleague terribly every day, as does Media Girl, to whom the Colleague has been like a second mother.

They say it's going to get warmer this week, go up to 60 maybe. Last year, we had a blizzard and a snow day on December 8, as I recall. This weather is totally bizarre.

I did not sleep well last night, even for me, and have been exhausted all day. Usually, one bad night's sleep doesn't bother me that much. I'm finding that as we get older, it's harder and harder to fall asleep there with the Hubs tossing and turning. Nothing at all wakes him up, but he's a noisy and a restless sleeper. Last night, after he bumped his knee into my still-healing knee twice, I gave up and moved to the couch, where I slept for a few hours, and then went back to bed. Most nights, I just sleep on the couch, but I never sleep for more than a couple of hours at a time, so when I wake up, I move. R said before that last night she slept straight through from ten at night unti seven in the morning and I said "Oh! That's what I want most for Christmas!"

My knee is actually aching a little now; there's very little predictability about when it will or won't hurt. Yesterday, I limped all the way out to the baseball field for the fire drill and limped all the way back. And then it was fine. I went without the brace for almost the whole weekend, but now I need it again. Even so, I'm going to call the gym and make an appointment with the trainer for the week between Christmas and New Year's so she can set up a very simple routine for me and I can start going back. I'm going to go in for my free spa service, too, I think just a regular massage.

I'm going to give the Sibs a call and then settle down here. See ya tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Still Standing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here