the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Save the Clock Tower! 1321

12.13.2006

4:02 pm


There was a flyer stuck in the mailbox before that urged community action, to preserve the character of the neighborhood. It seems that someone is planning to erect a cell-phone tower three or four blocks from here, in front of the VFW building, and some folks are outraged!

My first thought was WOO HOO DECENT CELL PHONE RECEPTION AT LAST!

For one thing, the VFW building is a squat, semi-underground, odd-looking little eyesore of a building. For another thing, it is half a block away from this:

Who's kidding whom, exactly?

(And when I searched Google images for the picture, I found out that it's a Cingular-T-Mobile tower they're planning to put up. YAY! I AM getting cell phone reception at home!)

In other news, my husband is disturbing my sleep again -- not in the good way -- and it's annoying. Last night, I fell asleep on the couch as usual, but woke up here and there and saw that the kitchen light was still on, which meant he wasn't home yet. He was teaching last night, and giving his final exam, so I knew he might be late. But when I saw that the light was still on at midnight, I got a little panicky, and woke up wide awake. Further investigation showed that he was asleep in bed, but had forgotten to turn the light out. Sheesh. If only he were home for five minutes, I could talk to him, but I think he has various work-related holiday parties to go to tonight, tomorrow night, and Friday night. I don't know when his own office's party is, but if I have to go, I'd really like for him to tell me about it.

BTW, I finally found the last Christmas gift I needed, the one for him, and I got it from eBay, so I hope I hear from the seller soon and it's actually coming. I haven't gotten anything from eBay in a long time, but this seller had a good rating. (Damn! Should have checked to see if I could have gotten it on Amazon!) Anyway, I ordered three bobble-heads: Abrahm Lincoln, Ulysses Grant, and Thomas Jefferson. If I could get mt hands on a Robert E. Lee, I'd keep the Jefferson for myself (although K wants the Jefferson, too.) The Hubs is, I may have mentioned, a Civil War buff. He's so hard to shop for.

(Okay, I just looked at Amazon and now I remember that I did check there first. The only amusing bobble-head they had was a Yoda, but I thought Lincoln would be funnier.)

I decided to start doing crossword puzzles again. This is so that my brain doesn't atrophy or anything. I don't like this whole memory-not-what-it-used-to-be thing. If anything, my memory probably has always been my best feature, my greatest strength. It's what makes me a librarian, in part. What I'm not remembering as well, mostly, is names, and since this is happening to everyone else I know over 50, I know it's not just me, of course. I can still recall all kinds of trivia and stuff the way I used to. It's just names I'm reaching for, and I used to be really good with those, too; I could name almost every actor I saw in a movie or on TV, the older the better. Ah well. I finished a whole puzzle last night, a Thursday no less, from The New York Times. (The easiest puzzles are Mondays, and then they get harder as the week goes on.)

I'm having dinner at the Chum's tomorrow; I must remember to toss her Christmas gift in the car in the morning in case I don't stop at home before I go. I got her three Christopher Guest movies on DVD; I only didn't get her Best in Show because I lent that to her last year and made her watch it, so I know she's seen it.

So K is working the late shift today, and the Hubs is coming home at a reasonable time or not until later, I don't remember which. My only question is whether to trek out to CVS just to get a replacement battery for my pedometer -- yes, I wore it today -- or fall asleep on the couch right here and now. Maybe I'll call the Sibs first. My knee hurts. I want pie.

Staying in then.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here