the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

All Packed Up and Someplace To Go 212

08.19.2003

7:22 pm

Heigh. Ho. Heigh. Ho.

For all of you with little ones, here's what happens after 18 years or so (in case you were wondering):



And this is just the tip of the iceberg. It spills over onto both sides, behind me, and almost out the door. We're off in a few to pick up the rented van, and then we schlep this all out onto the lawn, whence Hubs, the Tetris Grand Master, makes it all fit.
I stopped writing then and now it's about 2 hours later. The van is picked up (I wasn't happy with Hertz today) and loaded up. K and I stood there watching the Hubs pack the van in wonder. He is amazingly good at this.

And yet remains as weird as weird can be. Have I mentioned that before? Probably, but not in depth. On the way back with the van (we also dropped off K's car for service, so we rode back together), I wondered aloud if he had any thoughts of going to visit R while she spends a year in Wales.

He paused. He always pauses interminably after I ask him a question. At last he said that he hadn't thought about it. I told him it didn't matter to me either way, but I'd need to line up other traveling partners, so I wanted to know if he planned to go.

I knew he didn't, and I don't enjoy traveling with him, so it's just as well. He said that one of the reasons he can't go is that he doesn't have a passport. Hmm. This is a man who spends the occasional working day at some county courthouse, which is where you go to get a passport. Did he not know that? Of course he did.

He says he's never been out of the eastern time zone, and he can't imagine doing so. Again, I say: hmmm.

So he has no plans to go to Wales. Okay by me. I do. I may go twice. I want to spend at least a day in London and see the Globe Theatre that's been restored. I want to go to Ireland for a day or two. It's been a dream of my life since I was a kid to go to Ireland. I don't know why. I'd be happy to step off a boat, stand on the shore of Ireland for a minute and half, and then go. Well, not happy, but it would be okay. Ireland's always fascinated me. So I'm going. Somebody will go with me; I've had offers.

But tomorrow, the District of Columbia. It's a place Hubs will go: he went to college there himself, and he doesn't mind driving.

Anyway, it's in our time zone.

See you Thursday!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here