the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Warning: Easily Disoriented 213

08.21.2003

8:53 pm

Really, pull me out of my routine for one lousy day and I fall apart.

Yes, we went to Washington yesterday and I left my baby there. Again. But this was all okay; she's very happy there, and I'm very happy that she's very happy. The only maudlin moment I had all day was on the way home, when the thought fleeted through my airy head that when I got home, I'd have to call my father and let him know how well it went and how happy she is. Oh right, he's dead, one phone call I don't need to make. Shit. Does that ever stop, really? It happens to me all the f---ing time.

Anyway, so we were on the road from about 6:30 am to 7:00 pm, spending the middle chunk -- 12:00 to 2:30 -- unloading that mountain of stuff, moving it into her room, and looking for a place to park in Georgetown so we could have lunch. At a Japanese restaurant, of course, so the vegan could eat. (More to come on the Vegan Hubs in the next day or two. It was an interesting trip.)

So I'm home. Tomorrow the focus shifts to getting R ready to go off to school in about 4 weeks, but since I go back to work a week from Tuesday, I got me plenty to do til then.

But I promise to write. Now that I'm home and not going anywhere for awhile, I should be able to keep my last remaining wit about me, at least for now.
And thanks to trinity63 for this one: it was fun. Give it a go.

Rude and incompetent store clerks
Circle 1: Limbo

Drivers from New York and Other Scofflaws
Circle 2: Whirling in a Dark & Stormy Wind

People who think strollers rule the world
Circle 3: Mud, Rain, Cold, Hail & Snow

Spammers, Junk Mailers, Telemarketers
Circle 4: Rolling Weights

My Psycho Boss
Circle 5: Stuck in Mud, Mangled

River Styx

George Bush and Republicans in General
Circle 6: Buried for Eternity

River Phlegyas

The Religious Right and Other Fanatics
Circle 7: Burning Sands

Child molesters, abusers, murderers
Circle 8: Immersed in Excrement

Osama bin Laden
Circle 9: Frozen in Ice

Design your own hell

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Scrubs
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here