the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Yet Another Meme 1161

07.01.2006

6:23 pm

and yet another meme lifted from Mary.

But first, the good news of the day is that K got her job, and will start training on Wednesday, and will thereafter be employed. And mother breathes a sigh of relief.

Here ya go:

High School Madness

1. Who was your best friend? My best friend in high school was Ellen. She turned out to be a rather poor choice.

2. What sports did you play? Sports? There was no such thing as girls' varsity sports back in those pre-Title IX days, but I would have avoided them carefully. I once got hit in the mouth with a field hockey stick in gym class.

3. What kind of car did you drive? I generally drove my mother's car in the evenings when she she wasn't at work, but for a few months, I had a baby blue 1962 Oldsmobile Super 88 at my disposal. It was our family's first car with air conditioning and seat belts.

4. It�s Friday night. Where are you? Probably home watching TV, or at a friend's house. Junior year, I would have been at work.

5. Were you a party animal? Not in any sense of the word.

6. Were you considered a flirt? I was too shy around boys to flirt. I couldn't even talk to boys until mid-Junior year.

7. Ever skip school? Hmm. I cut the full day of school twice, but both times with my mother's knowledge, consent, and permission. (And on one occasion, her car.) I cut class twice, but was caught one of those times. I was such a good little girl, I didn't even know how to get away with stuff. (Unlike my sister and my mother before me.)

8. Ever smoke? Only once in high school; a friend and I were alone on New Year's Eve and gave it a try. Eeuuww. I started smoking regularly in college because there was a cigarette vending machine -- remember those? -- in my dorm.

9. Were you a nerd? So it would appear.

10. Did you get suspended/expelled? If I had, I would have been too ashamed ever to go back.

11. Can you sing the Alma Mater? I most certainly can. We sang it every Friday at the end of the assembly. Nobody really knows it anymore, but if a kid needs to learn it for some reason, they come to me and I teach it to them.

12. Who was your favorite teacher? I really liked several of my teachers. Mrs. Heffler, Miss Trinka, and especially Mr. Buckley leap to mind.

13. Favorite class? Latin. I loved Latin. (Mrs. Heffler.) I also liked history a lot, and Senior English.

14. What was your school�s full name? Since I'm still there, I'll keep this tidbit of information to myself. But it's the name of the town. Town Name High School.

15. School mascot? At that time, our mascot was a cutter ship. A very difficult mascot to work with, as I came to learn when I became Junior Class Advisor some years later. They've morphed it into a pirate at this point.

16. If you could go back and do it over again, would you? Not for a million dollars.

17. What do you remember most about graduation? I remember that it rained mid-way through, and we all sat there as it passed over. I remember that afterwards, on my way out to my car in the parking lot, I said out loud "Thank god, that's the last time I ever have to set foot in that building as long as I live." Of course, I got a job there some six years later and have been there ever since, for the last thirty years. Ho ho ho.

18. Were you 18? Yes � I turned 18 that January.

19. Favorite memory of your Senior year? The trips to Washington for a week and to Model Congress for a long weekend were pretty good.

20. Were you ever posted up on the Senior Wall? Is that a thing that most schools have? We didn't/don't. I'm not sure what it is. Therefore, no.

21. Did you have a job your senior year? No.

22. Who did you date? I dated a boy named Bob from about midway through Junior year until a couple of weeks before the end of senior year. He later went out with/married/divorced Ellen (see question 1).

23. Where did you go most often for lunch? Our lunch period was 23 minutes long. This is not to say that if you had a car, you couldn't make it across town to McDonald's and back, which I did on a couple of occasions. We had open lunch -- still do -- which means anyone can leave school grounds. But I mostly ate in the cafeteria. Less rushed.

24. What did you do after graduation? That night? I went home and watched television. I felt like the world's biggest loser. (Once again, an Ellen issue. Now that I think of it, probably the same Ellen issue.)

25. When did you graduate? 1971. June 18 sticks in my head for some reason.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here