the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Sunday 1162

07.02.2006

5:47 pm

I wrote the Ellen story once before; it's here.

It's been a quiet Sunday. K and I went to the Willowbrook mall this morning, which is where we go on Sundays since the stores near us are closed. She's looking for sneakers to wear to work, but so far, no luck. At one point, we cruised around the mall's Giant Jeans Conglomerate store just to see what the workers were wearing on their feet, to help give us some idea. Some of the girls were wearing flipflops, which has got to be damn uncomfortable, not to mention inappropriate, so really, no help. We'll go to some local stores tomorrow and look some more.

I'm looking for shoes, too, since I'm going to Florida in two months and I've got to start packing! Okay, that's insane, but I am thinking ahead. For one, I am definitely not bringing a rolling suitcase this time since that's what killed my elbows last time, so I'm looking at a smaller bag with an over-the-shoulder strap. Which means I need to pack light for real, and not just say I'm going to pack light and then throw in three extra t-shirts and a pair of shoes just before I go. I do not have, as I may have mentioned, dressy shoes, because I will not wear heels; consequently, if I have to dress up, I wear some kind of slacks. Because of the shoes. But I'm going to look for shoes to wear that are less clunky so they'll pack lighter, not to mention look better. But still no high heels. I ain't that crazy.

Otherwise, we're watching chunks of The Twilight Zone Marathon -- a time-honored holiday tradition in our house -- and not much more. Talked to R a little bit ago; at this time tomorrow, she'll be on the plane from London and over the ocean. Her flight gets in tomorrow just before midnight. Well, at least there won't be traffic to and from the airport. (And the Hubs is driving.)

K copied out a recipe for lamb burgers the other day, and it seems simple enough for even me to make, so I'm off to do that in a few minutes. We're also thinking of picking up a few things for a small family barbecue on Tuesday, just the four of us. We used to have a big family barbecue at our house every fourth of July, and I really miss that. Our last one was a year or two before my mother died, so that's maybe six years ago. My sister's family would be here, and anybody else who happened to be passing through. All the kids were welcome to bring any friends they wanted. Maybe I'll post a gallery of July 4th pictures tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Twilight Zone
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here