the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

P.S. 1171

07.11.2006

3:43 pm

Postscript to yesterday: my sister says she has seen and heard Angel the Dog say "Hello" and "I love you" in person and not just over the phone. In case you, like I, were wondering.

Boxing up the cats, btw, does require a certain amount of subterfuge, and only two people working together can get both of them. I bring the box(es) up from the basement, but only to the landing at the top of the steps, and then we sneak up on the cats, grabbing them simultaneously and stuffing them in. (I have cat boxes that open from the top, since getting them into the side of the old ones was impossible.) Either that, or I take out the boxes and leave them open in the living room days before I actually need to take them somewhere, so they get used to them being there and aren't spooked by just seeing them.

Yes, I'm terribly clever, aren't I? My cats, remember, routinely do not use the litter box. Guess who's having the last laugh here, eh?

Another postscript, this time to the TV meme, which I must say I enjoyed seeing the take on from Australia, via Fi. I've certainly made no secret of my lifelong addiction to TV, and there are several shows on the list that I just happened to see every episode of because they were shows that I watched regularly when they were originally on, like All in the Family or MASH or Star Trek: The Next Generation. But one of my hobbies, if that's what it can be called, is that sometimes I happen to catch a show being rerun in syndication, maybe one that I never saw when it was first-run, and I get caught up in the obsession need to see every episode. If I can, I get a list of the episodes and I cross them off as I watch them. The first show I watched like that was the original Star Trek, which I watched when it was first on, but only from the middle of the first season, and sometimes my parents would make me go to bed early and I would miss an episode. But they started showing it again when I was in college, and I had a book on the show that listed all the episodes, and, well .... I've since gone through The Nanny, The Golden Girls, and Gilmore Girls like that, and I'm currently working on Law and Order: Special Victims Unit.

Okay. I have issues.


Supernanny is back. So here's the question: do we watch this as kind of a self-help show, how to deal with your own monsters children, or is it more that most of us can feel "Well, at least I'm better than those morons!"? In my case, since my children are grown (and I'm old enough to be the Supernanny's mommy), I'm not looking for tips, but I do sometimes think "Yeah, I did that," or "Hey, that would've worked." I don't know; I'm just asking.

There was a British family on last night, whose problem, among others, was that their 7 year old was out of control, a trait he sometimes demonstrated by lashing out at his mother with vicious kicks. At one point, he kicked her in the face and drew blood from her lip. Then it turned out that the parents sometimes took their children to work with them. What do they do for a living? They are kickboxing instructors. Really, did they need a supernanny to point out something that incredibly obvious?

(What TV show is this from? Someone says "Do I need to state the incredibly obvious, or will the merely obvious do?" Must be MASH; sounds like Hawkeye.)


Celebrites I Never Want to Hear About Ever Ever Again
(Most of these are self-explanatory, which may or may not stop me.)


  • Paris Hilton.

  • Brangelina and their assorted spawn.

  • Tom and the Cruise Crew. (No, I'm guessing there's no baby, or at least no baby who is the naturally produced and birthed offspring of both of those people. I think she's brainwashed and he makes Michael Jackson look wise, thoughtful and normal.)

  • Lance Armstrong I know this is sacreligious, but I do not care for this great American hero. I think he's a self-promoter above all, quite possibly a doper, which means he's a liar, and the thing that really gets me (not just in him, but in anybody) is this: When the two members of a couple carry on in public like theirs is the greatest love affair of all time, what an amazing marriage/relationship they have, everybody look at MEEEEEEE and then ... they split up (it happens) and one of them carries on with his/her new love in exactly the same way. Lance Armstrong will do the same when he picks lady #3; it's his nature. I hate that. I hate it when ordinary non-celebrity people do it, too.

  • Melissa Etheridge For the same reason as Lance Armstrong, although I like everything else about her and she's starting to grow back on me. I liked her before she dumped the most wonderful partner in the world who she had kids with, for, essentially, a younger woman, with whom she now has the greatest thing EVAH.




Where was I?

I started reading London by Edward Rutherfurd this morning. I'm on page 25, so, only 1000 more to go. Hmm. I used to totally love reading this sweeping sagas; I liked his Sarum and I really loved a whole lot of the Michener books. (My favorite is Centennial, although I'm also especially fond of Hawaii.) Let's hope my fading attention span is grabbed here. I have to come back and try 1776 again; I had to put it down despite the fact that I enjoy reading history and especially David McCullough's writing, but I just couldn't get into it.

For some reason, I'm feeling that I want to keep writing and writing and not stop, although sadly I am without additional content to share with you.

Looks like rain, maybe. Thought you'd want to know.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching TNG
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here