the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Shot in the Arm 1171

07.12.2006

8:10 pm

So I got one today. A shot in the arm. Once again, I am not sqeamish about medical procedures unless they include a shot, and I don't mean like a simple vaccination. (I don't like them either, but I don't go crazy.) I'll spare you the details, but I was very nervous ahead of time, although it turned out to be nothing, since they put novocaine in with the cortisone. I understand that I may still be sore for a day or two -- I am -- but that on the third or fourth day I will be pain-free. So that's something to look forward to.

We've been under a tornado watch for the last few hours, which is quite rare for this part of the country. I have never experience one, and I think there may have been two in the northern New Jersey area in my life. I did come quite close to one in Poughkeepsie some years back, while we were on the road up that way to pick up R at school, and there may have been one -- they haven't decided yet -- a bit north of here, in Westchester County, NY, earlier this afternoon. We've only been having random monsoons off and on all day.

Will they or won't they? Only the painters know for sure. I'll be up early tomorrow to make the final preparations, and with any luck at all, they will be here at 8:00. AM. So I have been told. It's K's first day in the store, too, so a hectic morning is expected for all. I really don't know how I'm going to manage the cats, but I guess it will all fall into place.

Okay, I got nothing tonight. I used it all up last night. I'm sure I'll have a tale or two tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here