the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Striving for Normalcy 1173

07.14.2006

4:03 pm

Things are still crazy here, but I won't give the blow by blow description of the day. Just observations as things go.

Well, they got here 45 minutes later than yesterday, by which time I had the cats in their boxes and Boo was crying non-stop. I can't put them in the bedroom until maybe the middle of the day because they have to paint the door and frame for the that bedroom. They're also sanding down the rough spots in the walls today, so that's high-speed noise all day, too

. They also told me that a different crew will be coming back on Monday to put in the two new doors. Hopefully, if the painting is all done, that won't be as disruptive, since K can be moved back into her room by then. (Although she'll still have to wake up early and come downstairs. But she can sleep in her own bed Sunday night, at least.) It does mean another day of locking up the cats, at least until the new attic door is put in. I'll ask them to do that one first.

I slept very well last night, but woke up at six with the alarm and by seven, felt like taking a nap. So I'm having me a cup of real coffee, for a change. Let's see how fast I can type as the morning wears on.

.
.
.

The hallway is done and the stairwell is almost done. That leaves the rest of the actual room to finish upstairs, and they seem to think that's do-able for today. (It's about 3:45 now.) They were going to fit in the roof repair today, too, but I don't care if they come back for that another day. (One of the guys just pointed out a possible leak someplace else, too, which I guess should also be fixed. It shows in the ceiling directly above where the Hubs sits in his little study for hours every night. I find it hard to believe that he hasn't already noticed that, which would mean that it's been there for years and I can stop caring about it, but look who we're talking about. He's a man. He only notices what he's interested in noticing.)

Well, now I do feel like the ceiling is probably going to fall in and that'll be my fault, which is just more of yesterday's shit, but I'll get over it.

I'm doing the hot/cold thing all day today, putting the sweatshirt on, taking it off. Of course, it's a million degrees outside, but the a/c is on in here, and when it cycles off and on, I feel it, I guess.

The condition of my house is just horrid, and although I am far from a clean freak, it's frustrating not to be able to do anything because of the work going on. Even the sinks are gross because the painters, like regular people, do need to wash their hands from time to time, and I keep having to clean them over and over.

The caffeinated coffee, btw, gave me the shakes around noon, at least, I assume that's where they came from. It felt like a sudden drop in blood sugar, so I ate lunch, but I'd guess it was the coffee. I haven't felt sleepy all day, though, so I guess it had the desired effect. Don't know that I would do that again, though; I'm better off with a cup of half-caff, which I do have from time to time.

I realized this morning that school's been out for four weeks now. It feels like the summer's just getting started; probably because I've had things on hold until I could get this painting and other projects done. Or maybe I'm just kidding myself. Part of it, I think, is also that K is pretty much always home. She did get a job, so I can't fault her for that, but it's been so slow getting started -- a week to be hired, a week set aside for training, this week when she's only got hours on two days, and next week, so far, only on one. They said this is their slow time, and come September, she'll be getting lots of hours, but for her, it's practically like not having a job at all. So she's hanging around, and she's poor. It feels more like summer vacation to me when I'm here by myself. Another thing to complain about, I guess.

You've had it with the complaining, haven't you? I know I have.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Grounded for Life
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here