the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Progressing Nicely 1179

07.18.2006

10:56 am

Hey, my troll is not creepy! He's very gentle and good-natured, actually. He's been with me since I was 10 -- 5th grade -- and his name is Ebenezer McLenstarison. The little one is his nephew, Hannibal Rufus McLenstarison. So there.

Here's yesterday's list, with updates in bold:


  1. I have not heard from the people who need to come and put in the new doors. They called in the afternoon and will be here at 8:00 am on Wednesday. These are the people who show up when they say they will.

  2. I can't get Ikea on the phone to get a tracking number and shipping information gfor the piece I ordered for her room. I never got them on the phone. But the package was delivered in the afternoon.

  3. I went to Home Depot as soon as I got up and got the sundries I need to paint the basement stairwell. When I got home, I blue-taped all the edges and removed all the hooks and whatnot hanging on the walls in there. When I get up tomorrow, I'll do all the brush-painting. If I do the roller-painting the next day, then I only have to lock up the cats for that. I got it all done this morning, every bit of it, in about four hours. The cats never bothered me, although Q watched me from the basement with some amusement the whole time.

  4. I have actually made spoken contact with a living electrician today, and have made firm plans for him to be here Monday morning at 8:30. You know pretty much how that's gonna go. Fingers crossed for Monday.

  5. K and I went to the Container Store when she got up and we got the shelves for her room. They're still in my car. Still in the car. Until we get the Ikea thing upstairs and assembled, there's no place else to keep them.

So I have done my share of work for the day, what with the painting, and I hope to do not a thing more except help get that Ikea piece upstairs and possibly assemble it. Once that's done, and the other shelves are in the house, K is on her own for getting the room together. My only other contribution will be making the curtains for the window, and we have to get the fabric for that.

I'm going to be all achy later, but in a good way. What I need now is to get into the shower, which is coming in about a minute and a half.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here