the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Happy Wednesday 1180

07.19.2006

12:05 pm

The Hubs sent me this article in email this morning:


NEW YORK TIMES | July 19, 2006
Monroe: Man Charged With Assaulting Wife With Carrot
By THE ASSOCIATED PRESS
A 46-year-old man is accused of assaulting his wife with a carrot, causing her to lose sight in one eye. The man, Roderick Vecsey, has been charged with second-degree assault and disorderly conduct. Mr. Vecsey�s wife, Pamela, also 46, underwent six hours of surgery after being hit in the left eye with the vegetable on Saturday night, but doctors were not able to restore her vision, a prosecutor, Stephanie Damiani, said yesterday.

With his note:

If vegetables are outlawed, only outlaws will have vegetables.


So, two of the videos I listed on Amazon just the other day were sold. Frankly, I'm astonished, because I listed a few last year and got zero zip nada for a response. This time, I listed all but one of them for a lower price than anyone else was selling it for, because I'm not so much doing this to make money as I am to get rid of these things, and since someone can use them, I don't want to just throw them out. I've got them packed up; as soon as the guys installing the doors leave, I'll go to the post office. As my life goes, they probably won't leave until after the post office is closed, so I'll send them tomorrow.

So, the door guys. They got here at 8:00 -- before, actually -- and went upstairs to measure and such, and then left to get the goods. Said they'd be back in an hour. An hour and 45 minutes later, there they are. In the meantime, K had to get up hours early, the cats are locked up, yada yada yada. Maybe they could have measured yesterday, and just come today at 9:30? Ah well. One of the doors was hard for them to find, because it's an odd size, and they had to find one they could cut down. But they seem to know what they're doing, and after today, all that's left is the electician and I'm done with workers in my house! (For now, anyway.) I don't have to be home when they fix the roof.

Turns out I got an amazing amount of stuff done yesterday. K's room is starting to take shape, at last, and she spent a chunk of time last night moving some of her things out of the living room and back upstairs. Yet it looks no better. Once she's gone to work today, I'll reluctantly move most of what remains of R's things from the living room down to the basement. Reluctantly because I'd rather be moving them to her apartment, but I might as well be realistic about it. One of the things I'd planned to do this summer is replace the braided rugs in the living room, but it's a good thing I didn't order them, as the old rugs have been covered by boxes and whatnot all summer and you can hardly even see them. (Except for the path to the litter box. That you can see, and that's why I need to replace them.)

But I may order the rugs now -- I get them from J.C. Penny online -- because I need to get sheers to put on K's windows, and Penny's is the only place I know of that carries sheers in colors and different sizes. I had forgotten that until I remembered that it was the only place I could get my navy sheers for the living room a couple of years ago, and I need navy for these windows, too. We got tabbed curtains yesterday at Ikea that match her comforter, which come unhemmed but with iron-on hemming tape. I thought that was interesting.


I was just noticing this commericial for some osteoporosis drug, in which a young woman pushing a baby in a stroller doesn't realize that she's in the early stages of the disease, and then we see her walking more slowly, slightly slumped, with a toddler, and then walking like an old woman, in a dowdy long skirt and with gray hair in a bun, accompanied by her daughter who looks ten or twelve. So my question is, why is it that when they want to project a terrible future for someone, they make them dress bad? How would osteoporosis keep you from wearing nice clothes? Have you ever seen that show Honey, We're Killing the Kids? When the kids have bad nutrition and no exercise, the aging software shows them to be fat (no surprise), unshaven and with bad haircuts, sometimes with ugly glasses. Once the parents have improved their kids' diet and exercise, we see them in the computer aged pictures to look stylish and well-groomed. What exactly is the connection these people are trying to make us see?


It's noon, and the doors are almost done and then I'm freeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !!!!!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here