the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Moving On 1184

07.22.2006

6:35 pm

The world is relatively quiet today, except for the static that bursts in my ears with every lightning strike. We are having the oddest weather: periods of sunshine alternating with torrential downpours of Biblical proportions. I was only out briefly this morning, but the Hubs and K have pretty much been caught here and there.

No new movies today. But I did do laundry, and straightened up my desk, and the living room a little bit, to the extent that I can. K's stuff (in boxes) is all off the floor, and only on the couch and the chairs, and R's stuff is all out, except for the one bookshelf that she says she's definitely taking. The basement is filling up again, though, which does make me feel that everything I did there over the course of the last month was for nothing, but of course, I had to do that to make room for what just went down there.

Mostly today, I've been reading, London by Edward Rutherfurd, and it's very slow-going, which is not a good quality for a long book. Not that it feels slow while I'm reading it, but an hour later and it seems like I'm hardly farther than I was before. I'm generally a very fast reader, but at this rate, it'll take me weeks and weeks to finish this one. I'm so glad I brought home Truman by David McCullough to be my next book. I may have to save that one until I retire. Should that ever actually come to pass.

Now I have the headache, which I think is from the lightning/static, so I guess I'll take something. If I don't wear my hearing aids, I don't hear K so well, so I've been keeping them on. It's interesting, you know, that although the Sibs, my Chum, and E have all managed to adjust to my hearing loss -- I never have trouble hearing them, they face me when they speak or make sure they are always on my hearing side -- my husband and children never really have. They will talk softly or make jokes (not about me, just in general) under their breaths, carry on conversations from another room, or mumble. I wonder what that's about.

Okay, back to London. Prince John is about to, in the words of Claude Rains, throw Longchamps out.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will and Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here