the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Electrician Cometh 1186

07.24.2006

1:59 pm

More or less.

To start with, R was driving home from South Carolina with a friend last night, and they decided to drive straight through, so she expected to be here no earlier than 5 am. I woke up around 4, after which there was no sleeping for me. At 5, I officially started to worry, and decided that if she hadn't gotten here by 6, I'd call her cellphone, even though I knew she was driving this part. But at 5:15, there she was. We chatted for a moment, she chatted with the Hubs, who was on his way to work, then she went to sleep on the couch and I back to bed, but I didn't really sleep. I got up at 6:15, got dressed, and woke her a bit so she could move into my room and bed and close the door.

Because the electrician was coming at 8:00.

By 8:30, I decided that if he hadn't come by 9:00, I was going to call him and tell him to forget it, and look for someone else. He came at 8:50.

He did everything I wanted, nice work, not expensive, and was done by 11:30. R, in my room, slept until 1:00. I went in to make the bed afterwards, and guess what? No power in the bedroom. Or, it turns out, in the living room.

I have called back, and now I need to wait for the yutz to call because he has to come back today! No alarm clocks working in that room, not to mention the lights or the TV. Jeebs. What kind of electrician is this, anyway?

I thought all the work in the house was actually, finally done. I am so sick of this crap. Now I'm actually stuck in the house still, for the rest of the day, until he meanders back here. I'm so pissed off. Not to mention sleep-deprived.

I was reading this morning while they were working, and I was suddenly posessed of the desire to run screaming into the street. I didn't, of course, I kept reading. Why don't people do that more often? Why don't I?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Nanny
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here