the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Curiously 1188

07.26.2006

11:20 pm

You can now download all episodes of season 1 of The Jetsons to your computer. You can watch them on the computer, of course, via iTunes, or on you video iPod, if you have one. What amuses me the most about this is that this is a little futuristic development that even little Elroy didn't forsee, home laptop computers and portable pocket video.

Speaking of futuristic developments, I would like to read books that I don't have to hold in my hand. Because I am a well-known and certified book-lover, I can say this: I'd be just as happy to read my books on a portable electronic device, especially one with a kickstand, so I can keep reading while I eat. It could have its own built in backlight, and you could adjust the size of the text. I'm waiting.

Tomorrow morning, K is taking the GREs (Graduate Record Exams, for admission to graduate school) and my Wonderful Niece will be taking day 2 of the New Jersey State Bar Exam. Any well wishes, just beam 'em out to New Jersey for my girls.

Feeling somewhat Al Gore-esque, I replaced all the lightbulbs in the house with compact fluorescent bulbs today. Between that and the work done in the basement this week, I'm curious to see if my electric bill goes down this month, even by a little skinch. It oughta, I think. Part of the basement problem was that the lights and the switches were so oddly located, we just left the lights on all the time so we wouldn't fall down the stairs and bump into things in the dark. Now, lights can actually be turned off and on like in a normal house, and they're off unless we're in the room.

Best get some sleep. There's secret garbage to take out at 6 am, after all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here