the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Here 1189

07.27.2006

8:03 pm

But with headaches off and on these last few days. Sinus, I imagine.

London is finished; it takes me much longer to read a book these days, I think. Back in the day, I would have gotten through a book that long -- 1100 something pages -- in four days. Of course, I wouldn't have done anything else for those four days. The only thing I can still read that way is a new Harry Potter, so that's once more in this life for me. But I enjoyed the book, learned a lot. Next, I have an autobiography of Jack Benny, a little lighter. K is reading a biography, of sorts, of Queen Victoria's granddaughters and how their marriages into the royal houses of Europe affected history. I'll get it from her when she's done. Love that shit. I have The Devil Wears Prada for the plane ride next month.

I have, btw, read digital books on the Pocket PC I used to have, but on the whole, I'm not satisfied with that experience. The screen needs to be bigger, and there needs to be a kickstand! And you need to be able to get absolutely any book you want for it. Give it another five, maybe ten, years, and it'll be as commonplace as cell phones.

K's test went all right today; I talked to the Sibs this morning, so I don't know how Wonderful Niece is doing, but it's over! Listen, folks, this girl is an inspiration. She was let down about 100% by the public school system -- I won't even go into it -- but managed to get into a remedial program at a fine university where she took off like a shot and nevber looked back. She graduated with honors in a double major and a minor, distinguished herself in every way, and managed to get a former governor/presidential candidate (!) to be the mentor for her senior honors thesis. What other way could she prove to the world that she could do anything she wanted to? She could go to law school. (And was a magnificently beautiful bride just a little over a year ago as well.) My diary nickname for her is no accident, because she is as Wonderful as they come.

Oh, there's the lightning. No idea we were in for storms tonight.

Now that July is effectively over, I really must begin some of the tasks I set for myself for this summer. Starting Monday, I must go through and organize the papers in this house. Also, I think it's time to see if I can get my book printed, the story of my family that I wrote a few years ago and worked on this spring to get it reformatted for printing. I had trouble getting the .pdf to come out right, but I've got an idea ...

Okay, see you tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU - 9 to go
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here