the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How Hot Was it? 1191

07.29.2006

6:16 pm

It was so hot today that I wore shorts. Yours truly went out in public in shorts. I don't know why this is such a big deal to me, since of all of my parts, my legs are least affected by whatever weight I've gained, but I just never feel right in shorts anymore. So yes, it was hot.

The Hubs had suggested we go to a movie tonight -- that's twice within a year! -- to see that crossword puzzle movie, but it turns out it isn't playing anywhere really close by, and he worked all day even though the a/c isn't turned on in his office on the weekends, so he's pretty shot. So it's just the standard Saturday night Chinese food for us, and then for me, an SVU that's on my list of those yet to see. Two, in fact, tonight: one at 8, and another at 1 am, although with any luck, I won't be up to see it when it's on and will watch it tomorrow.

You may recall my Summer Resolutions: to sleep more, to read every day, to watch a movie every day. I haven't been doing so well with the movies, but I have been reading, and the sleeping, really, is better than it has been for years and years. I woke up today at 8:30. 8:30! Which means I actually got a full eight hours of sleep last night, perhaps a bit more. I've had a few bad nights here and there, but by and large, it's wonderful. I hope it keeps up in some way once school starts.

I went through my closet before, mostly to look for the jeans I have in the biggest size, but I couldn't find them. I suppose it's possible that I hopefully got rid of them when I lost all the weight, but hmmm. I have some shopping to do later this week since there's a family discount day at the Giant Jeans Conglomerate, so I guess I can replace them at a reasonable price. What I'm wearing now is just not flattering, although comfortable. Gotta re-think the look some, maybe tweak it a little here and there. I read an amusing book today of R's called How Not to Look Fat, which was just that, dressing to flatter your figure. Some of it was just common sense (no horizontal stripes), some I had already figured out for myself (v-necks are better than crew for bigger boobage), and some was food for thought. (Wear all the right underwear, not just a good bra.) Her advice to wear heels with everything because it makes your leg look slimmer is probably right, but I'm not doing that, for sure. She also advises against pixie-type haircuts, and I'm sure that's right, too, but, well. I know my hair would look better on a face with cheekbones. I'm over it.

.
.
.

Later.

Chinese food has been eaten. The evening looms. SVUs beckon.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Star Trek: First Contact
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here