the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Update, Medical and Otherwise 1200

08.08.2006

7:53 pm

Really, you would almost not know that I had surgery just three days ago.

I am not overworking myself, not at all, but I'm having no trouble just doing whatever it is that I generally do. I did go to the post office this morning, and Dunkin' Donuts, and K and I went to the Rag Shop (anybody else have those?) in the afternoon. (More on that in a minute.) Otherwise, an appropriately quiet day. I tried to nap in the afternoon although I wasn't really sleepy; first the phone rang (it was the Other Chai), then a FedEx delivery came, and then the Sibs called. By then, I was wide awake. So, no nap today.

I have virtually no pain, perhaps a bit of discomfort now and then. I wore yoga pants all day, since I imagine that jeans would be a bit uncomfortable. And that's it, really. My belly is still a bit puffy, puffier than usual, that is, and of course, I've somehow managed to gain back the pound and a half I lost last week, even despite eating hardly anything at all either Saturday or Sunday. So it looks like what I need to do to lose weight is the dreaded exercise. Or activity of some kind, anyway, which I'm specifically prohibited from doing before I see the doctor next week, and possibly for a while after that. Lovely. I'm still watching calories and being very good about it, and you'd think I would have lost something, anything, what with the appendix and all. It must weigh something.

It was a curious decision on the part of the surgeon to not give me any of my regular meds in the hospital except the blood pressure ones. Yesterday was sinus headache day, and today is the day that my body woke up and said "Hey! Where'd that estrogen go to?" Because I didn't start it again; I thought this might be a good time to try and stop it since I'd already missed a couple of days. This may or may not be a wise choice, but I don't know yet. Time will tell.

We watched the pilot episode of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, which K got from Netflix, a new show starting in the fall. We liked it, but I couldn't find the closed captioning on the disk, so I missed parts here and there, especially when women were speaking. I think I'll watch the show when it starts, but only if I can get the CC.

So, my project for the day was that I wanted a laptop sleeve that looked ... well, girly, since I use all these Very Bradley bags and accessories (including my laptop bag), but I wanted an insert for it that didn't look like a wetsuit, which is what I use now, an old sleeve that R used to use. Ergo, the Rag Shop, where I got some yellow gingham quilted fabric, and folded and sewed and voila. I'll try to post a picture tomorrow. It looks very cute. It's a little bulky, but it'll work to carry the computer in my luggage for the Florida trip, which is in three weeks. Three weeks!

Speaking of, the annual "Welcome back to school" letter from the superintendent came today. My first day is Thursday, September 7, which I guess is in four weeks. I wonder if I can get one of those little website countdown counters in black with funeral wreaths on it.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here