the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Next Day 1201

08.09.2006

6:18 pm

So here's my little project:

I'm pleased with the way it came out, although I was looking for different fabric and no buttons. These buttons were just so cute and fit right in that I had to use them. The little pouch was just to use up the leftover material, but I can put the power cord and ethernet cable and mouse in it.

Still not burning up the task list, but I'm not sitting still, either. Wish I could keep up with the exercising that I restarted just last week, but at least I have the sense not to do that without the doctor's okay. I figure if it's just driving and walking, I can do it. So I went to the supermarket in the morning (and again late afternoon for something I'd forgotten), and with K to get new glasses, and here and there. I wore actual jeans today, which was nice, although yes, they did pinch a bit on the belly scar. Now I'm sitting here at the computer like an old man after Thanksgiving dinner, with my pants unzipped. Ahhhhh.

I seem to have a great deal of energy, but not can't-sit-still energy. There are still things I'm not doing, like laundry, which requires lifting, and certainly no cleaning, because, you know, that's really not good for you under any circumstances, surgery or no. I copied a bunch of things off of DVDs to put on the iPod. One of my all-time favorite TV shows, which I must certainly have mentioned before, is The Odd Couple. The Hubs and I can, and often do, quote whole passages verbatim. It's never been released on DVD, but a couple of years ago, I painstakingly videotaped a marathon and then used my old computer system to record them as .mpeg files, and burned them onto a DVD. Since it's not a copy-protected DVD, I can use a Mac shareware program that I found to convert them to the right format. I adore The Odd Couple. If you don't know it, and you ever stumble across it at three in the morning, give it a go. The clothes are dated, but everything else holds up. (It's not quite the same as the play, which was also brilliant, but it's better, if you ask me.)

My little scar hurts when I sneeze, cough, yawn, or blow my nose. Other than that -- and it occasionally itches -- you'd really never know that I had an operation four days ago. Very strange.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here