the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Oops! 1205

08.14.2006

9:54 pm

Lost track of time a bit this evening, and only just now remembered that I hadn't posted. I took the girls out for dinner this evening -- that's all three of them: R, K, and Wonderful Niece -- and then we sat around for a while until R and Niece left for their homes. Seems that the hubs of the Niece is off at a training thing for work this week, so it was good timing. We had a lovely, lovely evening.

Our big task for the day was to drive over to the college again, this time to pay the bill for the course K is taking. I really don't understand the goofy bureaucracy there, but then, I didn't when I went there as an undergraduate, and again when I got an M.Ed. there six years ago. It turns out that the same office that took the Visa card two weeks ago for the application fee does not take it for tuition payments, but at the parking decal office, when I asked how we could pay, they looked at me like I was from Mars and said Visa, of course. Yeah, fine. Also, for a commuter college, they have the world's worst parking. They always did, but in as the years have gone by, they've kept putting new buildings on parking lot space, so now there are more students and less parking. I had some pretty freaky parking-related episodes there years ago, including once being trapped in a parking lot for hours during a blizzard. (I was on a lower level, and had to drive up two levels to reach the top, followed by a ski-slope ride down to the exit at the other end. There were about 20 other cars there with me.)

So I'm going to keep the new phone. I could not get it connected to the computer via Bluetooth, not after 25 attempts and an hour on the phone with T-Mobile and Samsung. Meanwhile, I was charging the wireless headset, which I never really use, but I wanted to see if I could link that up. No problem, it turns out, because in those directions, it says to press the enter key after putting in the passcode. Duh. Did not say that in either the phone or the computer directions, but I tried it again and pressed enter, and bingo! So it's a nifty new phone for me to play with.

Tomorrow I'm going for my follow-up with the surgeon, who will hopefully tell me that I can start to exercise again, even a little. Or maybe tell me that I can't fly in two weeks -- I seriously doubt that -- and I won't have to go to Florida. And then a bunch of easy little errands after that. I'm still not overdoing; I'm very good. Did I really have my appendix out just last week? Still surreal.

Is it back to school time already around the country? Here we run a solid September through June year, never earlier, never later. I can only remember going back to school before Labor Day once or twice, and that's in 30 years as a teacher and 13 as a kid. It's not just my district, but New Jersey in general, and, I suspect, everything north of here as well. Old schools like mine aren't air conditioned, except in individual rooms here and there, and even the new addition they're putting on doesn't have central a/c (although the new library does). School during the summer months isn't even an option.

Gah, nearly 10:00 and I haven't posted yet and my hearing aids are still on! What is my world coming to!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here