the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Report 1206

08.15.2006

7:16 pm

I went to the surgeon today, who said I'm healing very well and don't need to restrict my activities unless I'm doing something and it hurts, in which case I should stop doing it. He also said that it's an old wives tales that people with diverticulosis shouldn't eat nuts and seeds and the like, and that he has it -- he looks about ten years younger than I -- and he eats whatever he wants. Hmm, tempting. I think I'll start small, add one thing back to my diet for awhile and see how it goes, the way you start a baby on new foods. First: strawberries! I do have the occasional strawberry, but mostly I avoid them; now I guess I won't avoid them, although I did resist the temptation to buy a couple of pints today in the supermarket. That's just asking for trouble.

I honestly don't know what it is I do all day, but I do like this whole "summer vacation" concept. I believe that this is the first summer in 30 years that I have not done some work for school, paid or unpaid. In the early years, I kept the library open for summer school, but then that faded away, and in other years I've gone to workshops, or just worked on some project or the website at home without being paid for it. For the last several years, I have had to post the revision of the student handbook on the website, a very big project, and have completely revised the whole website twice. When I look at the website now, I can see that not a word has been changed since I last touched it, just before the last day of school, even though I know that someone else has taken it over. She just hasn't started yet, I guess; she really isn't official until September, anyway. But a school website that hasn't been changed in months, when parents (and kids) are probably loaded with questions? Ain't right, my dear.

Okay, what else? I'm in something of a stupor, I think, brought on by summer vacation, which isn't a bad thing. I'm just not thinking about things I don't have to think about. I can't even come up with an example. It's not that I'm feeling emotionless -- I went through that stage a few years ago, but fortunately was in therapy at the time -- I'm just very not intense. At the moment, anyway. Oh, I don't know. Very hard to take my emotional temperature these days. Not that I don't have any; just not in a way I can put my finger on so well.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here