the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Groovin' 1212

08.22.2006

3:42 pm



On a summer afternoon? Maybe not so much groovin'; CSNY are a little too political and good rockin' for that, but I have been working on and listening to a playlist of their stuff that I like. I had mentioned to the Hubs on Sunday that I was going to do this, and he asked if I wanted to listen to Neil Young's new album, which I did, which he had in the office -- I guess he listens when he's working on Saturdays -- and he would bring it home. Last night, he brought in to my desk a total of 16 CDs, more than half of which are Neil Young alone (or with Crazy Horse.) Uh ... wow. I hope he doesn't freak when he realizes that I've put them in my iTunes, because that's how I listen to music. So that's been my day, along with an end-of-summer trip to Costco and then a filling-in at Whole Foods.

I am still very, very tired. I could have slept later today, but I had to get up early because I had a nothing doctor's appointment to go to. Maybe I won't have trouble falling asleep tonight and then I can sleep in a little tomorrow, maybe til eight! K actually has to be at work at eight tomorrow morning, the first early shift she's had, so I'll have the house to myself when I wake up and can do my walking again after two days off.

I'm also really hungry; I'm finding that if my eating plan is thrown off -- there was no dinner on Sunday -- it takes me a couple of days to get back on track. I have lost about three pounds so far. That isn't much, but here's something (sorry if I've already written this! I'm old, you know!) It turns out that one of the symptoms of appendicitis is that your belly puffs up a little. I just figured it was more flab, but you know, I was shopping at the Giant Jeans Conglomerate for family sale days the day before it hit me, and I bought jeans and two pair of slacks in my maximum size. They were a bit snug, but I'd be damned if I was buying a bigger size than that; I'd wear a steel corset if I had to. But now they're much more comfortable, and I don't think the three pounds would make that much difference. I just lost the appendicitis puff, I guess. Whatever; I still have about 25 pounds to go. I wish I could go to Florida and just not eat anything, you know? That'll be tough for four days, though.

Tomorrow is Basement Day. (Just when I thought it was safe to go back into the basement.) I have to work on the pantry area so I can fit in the Costco stuff I got today, but someone is coming to service the furnace (why does that sound dirty?) on Thursday, and there's just so much stuff piled up near it that he'll never get there, so I've got to work on that too. I need a bigger house, or if not that, children with bigger houses, and their own. K still has several boxes in the living room that are too heavy for me to move downstairs. Sitting on the couch in there is just a memory at this point.

Please read Cosmic's book. I'll write my review, such as it is, in her comments, but let me just say here that it was an extremely worthwhile read.


--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here