the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Back to the Basement 1213

08.23.2006

3:38 pm



I got so much done this morning! Considering that I woke up with some kind of back problem, this was especially good. Both the laundry/furnace area and the pantry-sort of area are neat, organized, easy to find what you're looking for. Seems I already had lightbulbs, not to mention I have an awful lot of sanitary products for someone who hopes never to need them again, but, whatever. I have daughters. It can be part of their inheritance.

In my continuing quest to lose weight/understand nutrition on any level, here's today. I weighed myself shortly after waking up -- as I do every day -- and I weighed two and a half pounds more than yesterday! About 45 minutes later, after having breakfast and a cup of coffee, I weighed myself again, and I was only a few ounces up from yesterday. Did I lose that weight in 45 minutes? I think not. Anyone care to explain that to me?

Then I worked in the basement in lieu of walking, since my back hurt anyway, and I plugged my amount and kind of work into the calorie counter I use online, and I burned nearly three times as many calories shlepping stuff for an hour and half than I do with walking aerobics for 20 minutes. That probably does make sense to someone, but not to me.

Then K and I went to Whole Foods after she got back from work -- she was up at 5:30 this morning, which I'm sure she hasn't seen since the last time she stayed up all night -- and I got three Cajun chicken thighs at their prepared food counter. I felt good limiting myself to three; thighs are small, after all, but I do like them; they're not dry, like white meat. Imagine my amazement when I discovered that they go for nearly 400 calories apiece! WTF! 1200 calories would be practically my whole day's worth of food! So that's something else for K, or maybe I can just get to the meat and give it to the cats.

Well, then. I'm going to call the Chum later, who's still in Florida with her mom, Jean, who seems to be doing relatively okay. I either didn't know or had forgotten that Jean also has emphysema, so I guess there's only a certain amount of better she can get. But the Chum and her brother are arranging for someone to come in and look after her and be with her (although she has a niece who lives very close by and is as good as a daughter to her). Jean's 85, very gentle and calm, and doesn't want to be a bother to anyone, so she tends not to say anything if she doesn't feel right. But she was supposed to be coming home from the hospital yesterday or today, so I'll see how she's doing.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here