the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A New Hope 1217

08.27.2006

2:27 pm



I looked at the high school website the other day, and although no one has yet taken off the end-of-the year notices I put there in June, someone has added a link that leads to a letter from the superintendent of schools about the construction at the high school. He says that the new addition will be open no later than November 1.

YAY!!!!!!

If this is at all true, it means that I will have the first month of school to get the kids' ID cards done -- I don't even know where the computer I use for that has been moved to for the summer -- and then in mid-October, I should be able to start getting into thenew library to start setting it up. If true, it means that I will be busy this year, all year, and not sitting around looking around the window like I was at the end of last year. It bears repeating:

YAY!!!!!!

All of this, of course, is subject to lies change. So we'll see.


Here's a news flash, in case you missed it. It seems that the divine right of kings is back in fashion. And I'll tell you what else, I'm sick of hearing that these fundamentalist wackos are "pro-Israel." Let us remember that their only interest in Israel is that they know they need 6000 (or some number) of Jews around when the apocalypse comes, to jump into the eternal hellfire or something, and they're not sure which ones of us they're actually going to need, so they're hedging their bets by stockpiling their Jews for burning in Israel. Not to mention that I'd like to know which Constitution it is that this babe is reading, because mine says "Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof" right there in the first amendment, which pretty much tells me that, oh, I don't know, the government can't tell us what religion we have to be, which keeps the two somewhat separate. I'm just saying.



In other news, there actually is a hurricane headed for Florida on the day I'm supposed to be flying there. Not going is starting to look like a real possibility -- no problem there -- but getting the plane fare back is pretty much a fantasy. Get this. If I cancel (excuse me, re-schedule), they will waive the re-scheduling fee due to the hurricane, but I still pay for the ticket and have up to a year to use it. And where, I'd like to ask, am I flying to by myself? What good does a plane ticket for a year do for me? I'd only end up giving it to one of the girls to go someplace, which for me would be money lost. Now, if Continental cancels the flight, I get a refund. They will cancel it "the day before" if needed, according to the babe on the phone. Could that mean midnight the day before? Yes, it could. Which means what, exactly? I'd have to assume that I'm going until midnight the night before? Or assume I'm not going, but wait to cancel the flight to see if they cancel it first, like a big game of chicken?

Argghhhhh. This has been a pain in the ass from the beginning. I'm sorry, they should have scheduled the kid's Bar Mitzvah for October. Yes, I know next Saturday is his actual birthday. It wasn't a big deal when he was born, in Connecticut. But his parents know, I assume, that this is hurricane season in Florida, where they live now.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching flipping
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here