the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It Was A Nice Day 1221

08.31.2006

6:44 pm



Happy Birthday, S-G! When I tried to leave that it in your comments, it accused me of being a spammer, so here it is.


I am exhausted! We walked every inch of the outlet mall, and this following a little episode which we will not mention ever again in which I got lost on the way there, but ultimately got on the right road, although we had to stop at a rest stop so that I could pee, for a change. My sister says that we are so tired because we are two alte kackers (you can see an odd yet accurate definition of that here, but it's originally Yiddish for dirty old man), and we are. But we really had a great day together, even having hot dogs from a stand for lunch. And bought satisfyingly but not extravagantly.

Here's an odd moment from before we left her house. She had gone out of the kitchen for a moment, leaving me there with her hubby, and in the spirit of not wanting to stand there in total silence, I asked him "So, when do you go back?" (He's a college professor, and was on sabbatical last semester.) He looked astonished, and said "What?!" At which point, my sister returned, and I asked the question again. She rolled her eyes, anticipating trouble, and he said "Why would you say that to me?" Now I was astonished. I said lamely, "I was making conversation" as my sister said to him "She was making conversation" after which we left.

It seems that he does not want to think about going back to work until, I guess, the day he has to go, and he didn't like my reminding him of it prematurely. WTF? How weird are men? (I'm not excluding my own there, as you know. I hardly married the normal one.) She also told me that he was sad today because she was going to be away all day. Uh, okay. I can't say that he's possessive, actually, because he never stops her from doing what she wants and she doesn't stop herself because she knows he'll be sad without her, but he is certainly happy to be in her presence 24/7, or more than that. He would breathe for her if he could, which is really nice, in a way, because her first two husbands would just as soon run her over with the car as look at her, and she deserves the loving husband that she finally has. Even so. I'm just saying.

My poor kid may not have mono, but she is not well. She has some kind of virus that is just leaving her like a damp rag. I wish I knew what to do for her. And now I'm remembering that when she did have mono in high school, all the tests were negative until about a month after she felt better, and then the test showed that she had just gotten over a case of mono. Must tell her to share that with her doctor.

In other news, I am exhausted. Oh, I said that already. For some reason, my feet hurt all the time, not just after walkiing today. The soles of my feet hurt the minute I get out of bed in the morning and set them on the floor, and all day, regardless of what shoes I wear. They hurt more when I take my shoes off (which you know I rarely do.) I suppose this is just another manifestation of the alte kacker thing, which means it's downhill from here.

Have you noticed how that ticker at the top of the page is ticking down? I have.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will and Grace
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here