the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hindsight 1220

08.30.2006

3:44 pm



Okay, who knew? We made the decision not to go based on the best information available at the time. Of course, now it's lovely in Florida and the remnants of the storm will be here on Sunday. (So if we had gone, we would have been flying home into the bad weather.) What. Ever. I'm letting it go.

I'm getting into the whole going-back-to-school mindset, and I'm not so much liking it. Once again, I just feel like I'm out of the loop, or more accurately, there is no loop, but I did email the principal with a few questions and I would really like to know stuff that applies to me. I'm not asking to be in the inner circle. I'd like to know what I need to know to do my job.

The only thing I feel like I've got done here is go through my closet and see what school clothes I have to wear, and I'm okay there. Except for this. After my ranting about sizes and men's shirts last week, I did buy a few shirts yesterday at the Giant Jeans Conglomerate, so that's ladies shirts, and I got a bigger size than I've ever really worn before, and guess what? They were too small. Yes. So K is exchanging them for me today and getting the next size, which I tell you is a size I have never worn before in my whole life. It's the size my grandmother wore. So I'm just swimming in self-esteem today, between the shirts and the ditching of the family event for a hurricane that never materialized.

I am looking forward to spending the day with the Sibs tomorrow, which is all I really want anyway. I don't even care where we go. I don't need to buy anything at a mall -- god only knows what size I would have to get -- but tomorrow's supposed to be the only nice day this week and I get to share it with her. So I'm really hoping for a nice day.

Okay, I'm going to go clean the bathroom now. More fun for me.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here