the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

September 2 1223

09.02.2006

3:40 pm



Happy birthday, Shirl.


The storm I avoided by not going to Florida is throwing its last efforts against New Jersey today. Ironic, no? It's pouring and windy and cold out there. Tomorrow is supposed to be nice, however, but then I think more rain for the next several days.

This being a parent thing is truly never-ending. Last night, K had a lot of stomach pain, and what she was describing sounded just like me before they told me it was appendicitis. She did go to sleep at 11 or so -- she had to be at work at 8 this morning -- but I didn't fall asleep until 3, since all I could think was that any minute we'd all be off to the hospital. She is somewhat better today, which is good, but also, at about 1 this morning, I got email from R that she was feeling worse again. So I couldn't sleep because I was worried about both of them. R, I think, is still not great. She was going to come over today to visit with her cousin, who is due here any minute, but she was certainly not well enough to shlep out and over here in the rain. I'm telling you, I think it's mono. She's calling the doctor again on Tuesday.

So I'm dragging. I was thinking that J1 wasn't actually going to make it, since I think he drove down from Massachusetts today in this weather, but my sister just told me he's on his way. Which could mean anything for him; he dwells in a different universe that is not always parallel to our own. But I'll post now in case he turns up within the hour.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here