the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

The Calm 1224

09.04.2006

12:13 pm



These last couple of days have been very quiet. K seems all better, and R has been having some better days, not punking out and losing all energy until late evening when it's time to go to sleep anyway. I expect she'll call the doctor back tomorrow, and she has jury duty, of all things, on Wednesday. Wonder how that'll go. We have an extremely civilized jury duty system here in this county, you go for one day when you're called, and if they don't put you on a jury, you're done, go home. Being called is totally random; they do it from the lists of drivers in the county, I think, although it might be registered voters, which makes slightly more sense. I've only gone once and was not empaneled, but I could see just from sitting in the courtroom waiting for my number to be called that I could never do it. The acoustics in the courtroom are dreadful; I couldn't hear a word. So that would let me out, I would think.

Otherwise, I'm not frantically pursuing the things I wanted to do this summer and didn't, because, well, that's just crazy. So I didn't do them. I'm over it.

Which makes these next few days the calm before whatever shitstorm school turns out to be this year. I hate to be optimistic and look on the bright side, because that's my natural tendency and it's taken me 53 years -- or at least the 30 years I've been working there -- to get it: optimism where school is concerned is just asking for a serious let-down. So I'm just being cautiously observant. What happens happens. All I really need to worry about is not letting it get to me and me hair-trigger blood pressure. I'm not getting sick for those people. So we'll just have to wait and see, something else I'm not all that good at.

Speaking of the blood pressure, I'm going to the doctor tomorrow afternoon for just a routine b.p. check. You know, I've been going to the same doctor for close to 30 years now. He's an internist and a cardiologist, and as his patients began to age, he went back and did a speciality in gerontology. I totally trust him as a doctor -- he is my sister's and was my father's as well -- and I get along with him quite well personally. But he had to leave his private practice about four years ago when someone bought the building his office was in, and now he's in a group, the second one he's had to move to since then. His office staff absolutely sucks, and has no personal touch with patients at all, unless they reserve it for the patients who've used that office for years. (I knew and adored all the women in his original office. They were crazy about my father, who was also very fond of them. He brought them a box of Godiva chocolates every year at Christmastime.)

Anyway, they messed up my last routine b.p. appointment in June, and I ended up just having the school nurse take it and I phoned it in. The weird thing now is that I was pretty sure that my doctor would call after the appendectomy to see how I was, and he never did. He's always done things like that before, and I know that his office knows I had it because the E.R. doctor called my doctor that night to get the name of a surgeon and he was unavailable, but a cover doctor gave us a surgeon, and cover doctors have to leave reports so that the patient's real doctor knows what's going on. And the hospital would have sent my doctor a report on the operation, because I gave them his name. So I can only assume that his dopey office staff never passed the info along. This should be an interesting visit tomorrow.

Otherwise, the only thing I have left to do before Thursday is fold a laundry-load of towels, something I've already successfully put off for a few days. And Wednesday I have two last shirts to pick up at the cleaners and one little load of laundry to do for myself. Tomorrow I have to put the next few days' worth of lunch salads together. And that, my friends, will be it. On Thursday, the alarm goes off at 6:00 and the show begins.

Well, I'm going to have my salad for lunch now, and I think, maybe, do just one thing that I never got to all summer. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe calls.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching SVU Marathon
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here