the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How Am I, You Ask? 1229

09.09.2006

7:15 pm


I am fine, but the dizzy thing last night was most annoying. It started about 7:15 and went on until I went to bed around 10:00. I was fine if I sat up straight or walked looking straight ahead, but if I just leaned my head over, the room started spinning. I think it's all a sinus thing, but I can't take decongestants because of my blood pressure med, and I keep forgetting to sit still for ten minutes and breathe in steam to break up the congestion. Maybe tomorrow.

K went to work this afternoon, and after awhile, R and I went over to her store; I had something to exchange and of course, we each picked up an item or two. Do you know what kvelling means? I was waiting on line and the people in front of my were a couple whom I had seen K helping since we got to the store. She was just finishing with them, and each of them, first one and then the other, said "Oh, K, thank you so much for all your help; you've been so wonderful" ad infinitum, and then they told her manager how good she was. Doesn't that make mommy feel good! (Which good feeling is kvelling.) And she must have had something similar yesterday, because she came home with a little note of thanks from the manager. But it was really nice to witness it for myself today.

So, earlier in the summer, the dry cleaner's lost one of my shirts, mixing up my little bundle with someone else's. I thought it was a shirt that's part of an outfit, but I found that one in my closet a couple of weeks ago, so I figured what the hell, I don't even know what shirt is missing, I won't pursue it anymore. This morning, the dry cleaner guy said he found my shirt and he gave it to me. Not so much my shirt, however. I told him this, that it wasn't mine. He said, "No! Yours! Yours!" and put the hanger in my hand with the other stuff I was picking up. He said this is the shirt that the other people brought back that they said wasn't theirs. Never saw it before in my life. Plaid shirt, men's small, which, you know, is my size. So I seem to have acquired a shirt, all freshly laundered. I keep wondering though, whose shirt is this, and who has mine? It's like a chain letter, but with dry cleaning. Or not.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching America's Sweethearts
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here