the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Alternate Title 1234

09.15.2006

7:19 pm


I couldn't bring myself to use the only title I have rolling around in my head, which was my response to K's question to me when I got home from the gynecologist today:

"Yes, my vagina is fine; thanks for asking."

You can see why.


I am utterly exhausted. This is what comes from working for a whole week! (Although K claims that I did not actually work a whole week because I had to leave today before eighth period since my doctor no longer takes appointments after 2:30.) We had a fire alarm this morning in the rain; not quite a fire drill because something in the construction area set it off, although there was no actual fire. But it was nasty out there. The kids were very good, though.

Because I am immersed in the I.D. card process, it's also my annual immersion into kids' names and how some parents should not be permitted to name their own children. There is a set of twins with the same first name. I kid you not. They are both named Maria, which I understand is a thing in some cultures, but in those cultures, the girls would always be known as Maria Something, as if it were their single whole name, whereas here, computers stop at the first name and an initial. There are tons of Ashleys and Kaitlyns, and of course, in Bizarro Town, names of all possible nationalities and origins. The most common last name this year seems to be Colon, with an accent over the second o, but I don't know how to type that here. I think the prize, though, goes to Mr. and Mrs. Ho, who gave their son the most creative name they could think of. I'm not going to type the kid's name here, but you can guess it in my comments, if you like. His last name is Ho. (I have no idea of the ethnic origin here; Asian is likely, but I haven't met him yet.) His first name starts with I.

Curiously, yesterday, as I entered the kids in the first half of the alphabet, I came up with 6 or more of them who live on the street behind mine. Today, in the second half, I came up with 6 or more kids who live on the street behind the street I grew up on. There were two or three on my old street, but not a one on my current street. That's just freshmen, though; there are maybe four or five kids on my block already in the school.

I asked the principal's secretary to make an appointment for me with him for sometime next week, and she said he doesn't make appointments, but will have her call me when he gets a free minute. I think that is very discourteous. If a parent called, he would have to make an appointment, no? (Even though he would rather not, I take it.) I think it says that his time is more valuable than anyone else's, and anyone else has to accomodate his schedule, not to mention his whim. He really is essentially a pleasant man, so I don't know what this is all about, but I know this is his way and has nothing to do with me personally. I did send him a memo outlining everything I need to see him about, so if he reads that -- I don't think he does read my memos, so I try to send them only when necessary -- he can be prepared and possibly have answers for me then. Yeah, don't worry, my breath is not being held.

I can barely keep my head up here, and it's ony 7:15. I have my Friday People to read. And it's so nice to be home with Maxx the Mac instead of those icky old PCs at work.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here