the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And the Answer Is ... 1235

09.16.2006

5:12 pm


The boy's first name is Ivan.

As in Ivanhoe, the novel by Sir Walter Scott about a medieval knight. So this poor kid's parents are not only creative, they are arcane, and on top of that, weird. Or worse, oblivious.

I am very, very tired today, although I got lots of things done this morning, mostly in the house, and R's been here for the last few hours but just left. My mission for today was to completely dismantle my bed -- it's one of those sleep-number things, but a little older, so my controls are not digital and with numbers, just inflate/deflate -- because it was all creaky and the company sent me a kit to stabilize it. About ten minutes ago, I realized that I put some of the cushioning tape in the wrong place. I guess I can get more someplace, but it took me about an hour to take it apart, put in all the parts they gave me, and put it back together, not to mention that it involves stripping the bed and then getting that all back on, too. Bleah. If it still creaks, we'll live with it for awhile, I guess.

K is due home from work in the next fifteen minutes or so, and we'll see about dinner. Right now, I'd like a chef to appear at my door with some fully prepared, and free, good food. I'm not so much in the mood for Chinese food, which is our Saturday night staple, but I guess we'll end up there. My responsibility ends at calling in our order; the Hubs picks it up. That may be as close to getting a meal delivered as I'm gonna get.

Tomorrow is shaping up to be strange. There's some sort of graduate school reception that K is invited to and asked me to go with her, which is fine by me; I probably know people there, anyway. (I finished a degree there about five years ago, and several retired people from my school district are adjuct professors there.) But I need to go to ShopRite in the morning, before it gets busy, and probably another supermarket with K in the afternoon, after the reception thing. And maybe squeeze in Target, since it's closer to the college than to home, and why pass up an opportunity to go to Target?

Oh, so here's something I did today. You know how I keep saying that I have all the clothes I need, I do not need another single thing. So when I got out of bed this morning, exhausted, instead of putting on my regular shoes, I put on the Crocs, which I haven't worn since the weather turned cooler a few weeks ago. Heaven! My feet did not hurt for the first time in ... well, weeks. But my Crocs are this odd sage green color, which do not go with anything I would wear to work, so I made a Nordstrom dash and picked up a navy blue pair. (These are the cheapest good name-brand shoes you can get, at about $29 a pair.) But I also need to wear socks, because my feet are always cold, and all my socks are white, so I had to go to Kohl's to get black socks. Which I did. And some underwear on sale. And now I'm done. Really. Promise.

And Q is trying to claw her way up my leg, because I'm supposed to feed her in an hour, and why aren't I feeding her yet? Why else would I live if not to feed her every moment? Ah, cats.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Young Frankenstein
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here