the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Blurp 1236

09.17.2006

4:25 pm


I just ate my daily lunch salad -- late, it's after 4:00 already -- followed by the mandatory two Tums, and then, because I was being a pig, a roll of Pez. And now, I have got the indigestion. From Pez! I felt fine until I ate the Pez.

I was home from ShopRite this morning by 8:00, and fortunately there is no other supermarket in my future today. I did go to the grad school open house with K, which actually provided some useful information in terms of the admissions process, and of the program, which was new to her. She has finally realized that this college is not just local and relatively cheap (as colleges go), but that they have a very, very good program for training teachers. I knew this as well -- my undergraduate and second master's degrees are from there -- but I think she was still locked into the college mindset that Bizarro Town breeds in its young, which is that unless a college is out-of-state and non-public, it isn't worth a damn. (They make an exception for Rutgers, the state university, since it's a very good school, but pity the poor schmoes who go there.) It's a snobby, elitist, nasty, and seriously inaccurate point of view, and has no validity for the current school population anyway, but it persists. But I think that now she's not just eager to become a teacher, as she has been all along, but eager to be part of the process. (I don't have the heart to tell her that most education courses themselves are crap, but she'll figure that out in time.)

I believe that the only thing left on my agenda for the day is to make up my next batch of salads and to watch the first episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, which they are showing on the last ever day for the WB network. I've never seen the show, but K is a big fan, so I thought I'd give it a shot.

The worst thing, I'm still hungry. And I want more Pez.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Top Model
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here