the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Clarification 1238

09.19.2006

6:57 pm


I did not so much have a bad day yesterday as I wrote a bad entry, and then typed up a fast one to replace it and lost that, so I ended up just saying hello. Although K was not feeling well all day, at work and at home (but seems fine today) and I went out and picked up some comfort food for dinner, which led to a little problem for me, it was a busy day at work, which was good, although the place is crazy and conspiring against me getting my work done, but today, said Scarlet, is another day.

K had had soup for lunch when she got home from work and didn't want more, but suggested blintzes. Hmmmmm, blintzes.



For the uninitiated, blintzes are essentially delicate crepes that are folded around a filling of some kind, and then sauteed in a pan in butter until they are crisp on the outside. Each one is about four inches long, about an inch thick, maybe an inch-and-a-half across, although I guess it would vary for people who make their own. (I buy frozen. Have not had a homemade blintz since 1960.) Although they are often filled with fruit compotes, the true blintz is filled with a sweet blend of cheeses. Once fried up, a little sour cream is nice on top, maybe a little sugar. Get the picture? This is a nice, sweet, warm, soft food. Emphasis on the soft.

I put the first bite in my mouth and my jaw somehow locked, just below the left ear, but I persevered and felt a kind of snap, or jump, in my jaw. Not that anything is broken, but something definitely moved in a way not designed by man or god. Hurt like hell. But it moved all right, just hurt. So I ate. Hurt a lot all night, which kept the snacking down I must say, and is still sore. I ate hot cereal for breakfast, and we'll see how it goes with my salad for lunch. It only seems to bother me when I chew, and has otherwise been fine all day.

I watched Studio 60 last night, although I had seen it before because we rented it from Netflix, but this time I got the closed captioning. I thought it was a very good show. We also stumbled on Class, I think it's called, and were pleasantly surprised. Much more well done than we expected.

Later.


Later.

My jaw is fine, much better than it was this morning, so I can let that go and concentrate on some other physical ailment that I probably have. (Just kidding.)

I was a little bummed this afternoon, so real reason I suppose, but then I talked to the Sibs and the OldFriend called, and I perked up. I told the Sibs that I need to get her a bumper sticker that says "Follow me to A.C. Moore" because all she wants to do is go get more and more yarn to knit. I envy her retirement, and the Chum's, but I must say, being back at work and knowing that they aren't makes me realize that I'm not really ready for it yet. If I were in a less crazy environment, I probably wouldn't even be that interested in retirement yet. I'd always planned on working til 60, and I'm only thinking earlier now because it's often so unpleasant there. If things changed, I'd stay. I love my work. I just hate my job.



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Reba
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here