the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Unpleasant Day at Bad Rock 1239

09.20.2006

4:44 pm


Bad would be an overstatement. Once again, it is the powers that be in my school that I have issue with -- I won't even go into it here -- and the fact that they don't give a shit about anybody, and don't treat people with respect or courtesy, and that, btw, the person who is allegedly our new secretary likewise could care less about us and when I asked her to do something, she apparently went directly to the principal -- how on earth she gets to do that, I don't know -- and told him, and he told her she didn't have to do it. She made it look like I was asking her to change her hours in violation of her contract, which I most certainly was not doing. Anyway, so now she's screwed us over, too, and if she continues to be our secretary that will be most unpleasant, and if she isn't (she's already applied for a different job), then they probably won't replace her.

Look for a retirement counter to appear at the bottom of the page any day now.

On the other hand, I got calls this morning from both of my lovely daughters, which was nice, and R is unexpectedly joining me fro dinner, and I WANT PIE. I really mean it this time, too. As far as I'm concerned, I could pass on dinner and just eat a pie, warmed up, with ice cream on it. Unless we go to the Cheesecake Factory, please, in which case I'm getting Key Lime Cheesecake as my entree.

Tomorrow, in fact, I am having an early dinner with the Chum -- yay! -- who is finally back from Maine -- yay! -- and we are going to Chili's, because it's near her house and no one in my family is ever willing to go there with me. The food will probably kill me; I'd better look at the menu online, but once in a while, y'know? Something a little different?


Now that I've lived more of my day, perhaps "bad" would have been the right word after all. But it has a happy ending.

I got email from R suggesting that we go to the Cheesecake Factory. Score! After much thought, I called K to see if she wanted me to bring something home for her. Man, was she crabby. Her day was terrible (she'd been home all day at that point, so I don't know), and how did she know what they had at the Cheesecake Factory? (Hint: It starts with the word "cheesecake.") And so on. So now I was all disrupted, figuring she'd be all cranky when she got home from work tonight. I lost it for a minute at the end of the Great I.D. Card land Rush, after I'd taken over 40 pictures in 30 minutes, and then I went food shopping, first to Trader Joe's where the cashier dropped a box of ... well, yes, chai, and it spilled everywhere, and then ShopRite. On to the homestead.

First, I found a sweet note about the cats, along with her cheesecake order. Then, in the bathroom, I noticed that she had folded and put away yesterday's huge load of towels.

Listen. This has never. ever. happened. before. ever. Neither of my children has ever folded a load of towels and put them away. When R lived at home I could occasionally guilt her into putting a load into the washer, but I still brought it upstairs and did the rest.

I was overwhelmed. I was overjoyed. So I did something that I never do. I sent the kid a text message. "You are the best person in the w w world. Love you. xoxo. mom" I am known among my children for my inability to send a text message. It took me ten minutes. I hope she checks her phone on her break.

The big one just arrived. Off to cheesecake heaven. (It's not pie, but it'll have to do.)



--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here