the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Don't Ask 1242

09.24.2006

5:50 pm

I wouldn't even know where to start, and most of that is because nothing is happening, nothing going on. Status quo, all fine.

Except that yesterday, just before I was thinking of writing, I had a bit of a tiff with the Hubs. This is significant because we never, ever argue. Now, if you ask me, there is something weird about a marriage where people never argue, but this is what it is. It's partly because he doesn't know how to be angry. He only has two anger settings: zero and completely fucking insane. How he reached CFI in ten seconds or less last night, I can't quite say. But that's enough; it had a happy ending only five minutes later. But it shook me up for a bit, although I was fine. An apology from him would have been nice as well -- I apologized for my part -- but he doesn't think in those terms. Once it's quiet, it's forgotten. And today is just another day.

I haven't slept great for three nights in a row, so I'm tired and just want to put my head down, but as always, I'm afraid that'll mess me up tonight. We'll see how that goes.

The good news is that I am this close ][ to having my living room back. On Friday, when K said she had the whole weekend off, I suggested that she might want to tackle one of the three remaining boxes there from when she moved home in June. Last night she got them all. All that remains is a small box of games and puzzles that R has needed to take all summer, but now that it's the only thing left, she can hardly not see it, so maybe that will go tomorrow when she comes. I ordered a new braided rug from Penny's this morning to replace the current cat-abused one. I hate walking in through the front door and seeing a crappy looking room. Almost all gone now.

I tried to reach someone at the gym several times yesterday to figure out how to get started there, and get my assessment test re-done, but we couldn't quite connect. She called me before and I have an appointment with her -- she seems to be in charge of the gym, or at least of all the trainers -- on Tuesday after school. I'm really looking forward to getting started there.

In TV news, K gave me the first episode of Veronica Mars to watch this morning, which I liked very much, and all afternoon we've been watching the original British The Office, which is quite amusing, but of course the British and the US versions are very, very similar. It's almost like seeing the same play twice but with different casts.

I also got my haircut yesterday and I like it very much, although the hard part for me is always doing it myself at home. I tried it this morning and it came out okay, but even with gel, I can never get any height or volume in my hair. It's not completely flat, but not as good as when I left Ray's yesterday, which of course it never would be, but still. Maybe I need the same stuff he put in it. I'll see by the end of the week, and I'll go get some if I need it.

.
.
.

Hmm. Just lost part of a filling while I was on the phone with the Sibs. Now I've got to work the dentist into this week somewhere.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Office UK
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here