the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Under Construction 1241

09.22.2006

7:34 pm

In more ways than I can count.

First, I took an unauthorized stroll through the new building today. I wanted to see the library again, the SCM was out, so I could go alone, and the building was empty except for teachers because of the Rosh Hashonah football game. I went through the one door I knew I could go through, made my way up the stairs, and saw that the room appears to be painted a soft off-white (although that could be primer), and there were men assembling book shelves. That was my best guess; I didn't want to ask them because they didn't see me and I wasn't supposed to be there. But the floor isn't finished, so I don't know what's up with that. I made my way down the stairs again, and ...

the door was locked from the other side.

Ooops.

I wasn't frantic or anything, but kind of amused. Everything else that seemed to be an open doorway in fact opened onto a drop of ten feet or so, since the outside stairs aren't in yet. (Dangerous? Of course. That's why I wasn't supposed to be there.) I finally broke down and asked one of the workers, who was very nice, and told me the cafeteria doors, which look like they're blocked off with yellow warning tape, are actually open, and I could go out there. So I slunk my way out and hid someplace until it was time to leave.

Then I went to the gym for my assessment appointment.

The gym fitness center and spa is also not quite done, although there are workers swarming all over it. Since this is a gym just for women, that was a little disorienting, but okay. It is unofficially opening on Monday, with the grand opening on Wednesday, so it's very, very close to being done, but .... not quite. It is also very, very nice. There are many little amenities, like they provide all towels, and even robes in the spa, and there are yoga mats so you don't have to schlep your own around. There's a counter area between the cardio and the weight equipment where you can pick up a chilled towel. There are lockers in the locker room (of course) and another set of small lockers out where the equipment is so you can stash just your purse or something you might want between moving around all the stuff.

My assessment consisted of a good medical history, with notes made of my various limitations, and then a test on a treadmill while wearing a heart monitor. I flunked the test. I was fine no matter how fast it speeded up, but it also kept increasing the grade, and when it got up to 12%, I had to make her stop. I felt like I was running up a mountain, and I am not good even walking uphill at all. The trainer said that another test will be in the computer by next week, and she made a note that I need that one. I also got their schedule of classes, and it looks like there are several worth trying. They have a few quick classes, 15 minutes long. One is relaxation breathing techniques and one is called "Waist Management," so we know what that is. And that I need it.

So I too, it appears, may be under serious construction. You knew it was coming full circle somehow.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Raymond
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here