the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Quick Take 1245

09.27.2006

5:33 pm

I went directly from school to get my nails done and just got home, and I have to leave for the gym in 45 minutes, so this is it.


  • School continues to suck, mostly in a bored and sad kind of way. However, I got to have a three minute conversation with the Colleague at her desk in the big office, which I thought was okay, until we happened to run into each other outside the ladies' room about a half hour later, and we caught up like sisters who've been apart for 60 years.

  • I've seen my actual sister for the last three days in a row, which is astonishing, but on my way from school to nails I was thinking that I wouldn't today, unless she happened to pass by nails and see my car and drop by. Then I realized I had a bit of extra time, so I went to pick up my dry cleaning and she was on her way out, having just picked up hers. I got the bonus of seeing Wonderful Niece with her as well. Cool.

  • I'm ready to go to the gym and try my test one last time. If I still can't finish it, they'll have one of the trainers take it for me and then manually adjust the program once it's on file.

  • And then I have to stop at the supermarket on the way home -- it's in the same strip mall as the gym -- because I have nothing for lunch tomorrow. I'm imagining everyone at the store giving me a really wide berth as I cruise through all red-faced and looking like I'm going to die.

  • There's a wake I should go to tomorrow night with the Hubs, which I may or may not do. It's for someone he hasn't worked with for a long time, but who helped give him his start years ago. He will certainly go, but maybe not me. Just talked to R, who will be around tomorrow, and I do have an orthopedist appointment tomorrow afternoon. And when the potentially imminent end comes for the Other Chai's mother, I won't make him go to that one.


The End.




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Curb Your Enthusiasm (K's DVD)
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here