the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Another One! 1246

09.28.2006

7:58 pm

I've stolen yet another meme, this time from Yvonne, but some of the questions are similar to the one I did the other day, so I left those out. See her page if you want to do the whole thing.

Questions

1. Where is your dad right now? My father died in February, 2003.

2. Last time you saw the person you liked. Answering in the general sense, I can see both of my daughters having dinner in the kitchen from my computer chair right now.

3. What is something you've learned recently? Taking care of your own mental health is worth more than winning an arguemnt.

4. What color is your watch? Not wearing a watch these days. My last watch was black.

5. Do you like anyone? I have nothing against most people.

6. Are you close to your mom? My mother died in May, 2002. Before that, I would say that yes, we were.

7.

8. What are you listening to right now? The Simpsons on TV.

9. What do you smell like? Like I showered 13 hours ago.

10. What color are your pants? Blue. Denim. Jeans.

11. Do you have a roommate? One husband, one daughter full-time, one ex-patriate daughter who is often here, two cats.

12. What color is your bedroom floor? Sort of like toast, carpeting. A good color for cat vomit.

13. Do you have a chair in your room? No room for a chair in my bedroom.

14.

15. Do you know anyone who is engaged? Only in a six degrees of separation kind of way. My sister's husband's son from his first marriage, whom I never, ever see and really don't know, is getting married in a couple of weeks.

16. What is your favorite number? I'm partial to 42, and anything divisible by 5. My lucky number is 732, the number of my dorm room in college.

17. Do you know someone named Lori? I do. Probably more than one, although I can only think of one at the moment.

18. What color is your mom's hair? My mother had brown hair, a little darker than mine, which she began to color in her early thirties until she reached that weird sort of red that old ladies have. She had to stop coloring her hair for chemo, then a lot fell out, and then it grew back thick and beautiful and all silver in the front and still mostly brown-black in the back.

19. Do you have a dog? Sadly, no. I have a husband instead. The two are mutually exclusive. (Even though he promised before we got married. But you've heard it all before.)

20. Do you remember singing any songs as a kid? I sang all the time when I was a kid.

21. When was the last time you went swimming? Too far back even to remember.

22. When was the last time you talked to one of your siblings? I got the one sister; I talked to her yesterday.

23. Did you ever go to camp as a kid? Do you want to get me started on this one? I went to day camp every year from 8 to 12, and a horrid sleepaway camp at 13, but my mother never got it that if you didn't go to the first two-week session, you wouldn't know anyone and would be the social pariah, and we always went on a family vacation the first two weeks of the summer, so there you go. Also, I could not swim and so I was always grouped with younger kids. I did not have good camp experiences.

24. Do you play an instrument? Not so much.

25. Do you like fire? I'm both fascinated and terrified by fire, which is probably a common response.

26.

27.

28. What kind of shampoo do you use? Currently some kind of Aveda scalp moisturing shampoo. Maybe T-Gel tomorrow.

29. Have you ever been to a spa? I've been to day spa kind of places.

30. Did you take science all four years of high school? My high school was three years only,k 10 - 12 (9th grade was in junior high), and I only took science in 10th grade. I talked them out of making me take more by taking lots of foreign language classes instead. ("You want me to take chemistry? But if I don't take Latin III, there won't be enough for a class!")

31. Do you like butterflies? I am astounded that there is someone alive who doesn't like butterflies.

32.

33. What is one thing you miss about your past? My grandparents.

34. Did you ever see the school nurse? Only once when I was a kid, when I got hurt in gym, but I'm not afraid of her anymore (no, it's not the same nurse), and I go when I need to. Mostly when an administrator or some such character makes me go off the deep end and I need my blood pressure checked.

35. Have You Ever Wanted To Be A Teacher? Always.

36. What things have you learned about life? It generally goes on, one way or another.

37. Are you jealous of anyone? No.

38. Is there anyone jealous of you? I can't imagine why there would be.

39. Ever been stuck in an elevator? Not that I can recall.

40. What does your dad call you? He mostly called me by my name, but when I was little and sometimes after that he would call me Rosanne-y-Pie. For years, mostly my teen years, my sister called me E-Pie. I have always called my K, among other things, K-T-Pie.

41. What does your mom call you? By my name, I think. She loved that dreadful thing.

42. What does you hair look like right now? Short, tousled.

43. Has a friend ever used you? Yes.

44. Has anyone recently told you that they like you as more than a friend? As opposed to what?

45. What have you eaten today? More than I should have.

46. Is your hair naturally curly or straight? My hair is naturally limp, with an awkward wave here and there.

47. Ever been called white trash? I don't think so. Not an expression in common use around these parts.

48. Last person you were in a car with? The aforementioned daughters.

49. What are you looking forward to? Not having this toothache anymore. And retirement, of course.

50. What is your favorite color? Do I really need to answer that?




--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ugly Betty about to start!
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here