the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Librarian's Dilemma 93

03.07.2003

3:50 pm

So I was working at my desk this morning, and there was a Biology class in the library doing research on diseases. I sent a document to the laser printer that all the computers in the library share, and when I went to get it, I saw that one of the little researchers had printed out a website but hadn't picked it up. I looked at the topic, turned to the group, and very nearly called out to a class of 25 sophomores:

"Okay! Who has genital herpes?"

Hey, it works when they're studying the Civil War.

**********************

The Friday Five

answers written at 6:30 Friday morning

1. What was the last song you heard?
I'm cheating here - I waited until I got into the car to go to work before answering this question - and I heard "Penny Lane" on the oldies station.

2. What were the last two movies you saw?
in the theatres:
Harry Potter
Greek Wedding/Sweet Home Alabama (both on the same day)
on TV or rented:
Murphy's Romance
Desk Set

3. What were the last three things you purchased?
numeric keypad for the laptop computer
stack of blank mini cd-r disks
scanner and fax paper for school
(Yes. I am a geek.)

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend?
pick up K at the train
go to the bank and close Jack's account
get the lightbulb fixture in the fridge replaced
pick up the dry cleaning


5. Who are the last five people you talked to?
husband
sister
mother's best friend
my best friend at school

29�F - sunny

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching dr. phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here