the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No Escape 115

04.08.2003

6:52 pm

I didn't have one cold this winter. I think it's the first time in my life that's happened. I remember when I was little, four or five, not understanding what people meant when they said they had a cold. I thought that everyone sniffled and sneezed all winter long, every winter, like I did. I couldn't figure out what a post-nasal drip was until I was twenty, when I realized I'd had it all my life.

Alas, there is no escape. After spending a lovely Sunday afternoon reading diaries and updating my own, I started writing something else and slowly realized that my throat hurt.

A lot.

Within minutes -- minutes! -- my ears hurt and I started to sneeze. I've had the headache since Sunday too, but not a sinue headache, so I know it's not that. I stayed home from work on Monday, and came home early today. After about the dozenth nap, it's starting to move on, just a scratchy throat now. It's running its course.

Which is to say, I've got a cold, like everybody else.

What's really intriguing me is that I've got some time alone in the house, for a change. Funny, when both girls left for school in the fall, I didn't know what to do with all that time to myself, espcially since Hubs was working a million hours a week. Then he changed jobs, and now he's home every morning and leaves for work after I do, and boy, I miss that time alone in the house, which I've had now for years and years, even when the girls were home, since they got up later than I did. So then Hubs was always around for awhile; I never got used to that. And he teaches nights, but his schedule for the last few weeks (and all those snow-days) meant he's been home a lot then, too. Seems like I'm never here by myself anymore; I miss it somehow.

Anyway, he's back to teaching this week and I've been home sick, so here I am. Very .... relaxing.


Thinking lots about lorisor. Everybody keep good thoughts.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Will & Grace rerun
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here