the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Don't Hate Me 196

07.30.2003

6:51 pm

It seems that I have somehow inadvertantly begun my Christmas shopping.

Really, I was just killing time on Amazon last week, ordered a DVD, and then saw all kinds of Futurama stuff -- books, paper-dolls, calendars -- so I ordered them to put aside for the girls for Christmas. This makes me sound wonderfully organized. In truth, it will come back and bite me in the ass, as it always does, since they will probably see these lovely items somewhere -- anywhere! -- between now and December 25 and pick them up for themselves, and I'll be stuck with them, not to mention I'll still have shopping to do. Yet I continue to do such stupid things every year. I wonder how many more until I get it.

And then I went to the Build-a-Bear store today and built them not-bears. Again, not sure why, and I probably won't save these for Christmas, either. I want R to have hers to take to Wales, even if I have to ship it to her there. I made her a monkey wearing a t-shirt that says "Somebody in New Jersey Loves Me." And K, who begs constantly for another kitten and knows damn well that ain't happening, I made her an orange kitty wearing a tie-dyed smiley face t-shirt. K's kitten meows when you press its paw; the monkey giggles. I am insane.

The big news in these parts is that a giant Ikea -- I understand one of the biggest in the country -- just opened a mile or two from here in Paramus, the former mall capital of the universe. (We bow now and tip our hats to the Mall of America, which has single-handedly run away with the title.) Anyway, I didn't go today, opening day, fearing traffic, but I'm sure I'll be there before the week is out. According to the paper, the restaurant seats 600, making it the biggest restaurant in the county. Imagine.

I haven't been writing much, as I've been revising my school's website, and such a task tends to consume me, as this one did for three or four days. I've been sitting at the computer from roughly 6 am to 11 pm. It's like a drug. It's done now. Since the basement looms before me, I'll probably be writing an awful lot.

I'll leave you with my current vision of hell:

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here