the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Defense of ... what, exactly? 197

07.31.2003

7:01 pm

I'm not sure where to go with this one -- more than one place, probably -- it's been on my mind all day.

The president, as we know, is opposed to gay marriage. According to the article I read over my morning coffee in USA Today, he said:

"I believe in the sanctity of marriage ... I believe a marriage is between a man and a woman, and I think we ought to codify that one way or the other."

The article continued: A senior White House official said the president meant that the administration was considering supporting a GOP proposal to amend the Constitution to limit marriage to a man and a woman.

Bush was also asked about his view toward gays.

"I am mindful that we're all sinners, and I caution those who may try to take the speck out of the neighbor's eye when they've got a log in their own," Bush replied, paraphrasing from the Bible.


Excuse me, time to spin off on my first tangent:

"We're all sinners." !!! Excuse me? Hello? [Insert catch-phrase of your choice to express incredulity, and double it. Thank you.]

We're all sinners? Who, exactly, Mr. President, do you mean by we?

I'm guessing he means, all we Christians. Because he thinks everyone is a Christian, and everyone who isn't, should be. He has a nauseating little quirk of assuming that everybody wants to be just like him.

I don't. If anyone subscribes to a religion or philosophy or belief that he or she is individually a sinner, well, okay, whatever; it has no bearing on me. But I don't believe that. It has nothing to do with any organized religion, since I don't have one or follow one. This "we're all sinners" thing, it's not a part of Judaism, but neither am I. My spirituality is my own, and I'm very comfortable with it, thank you. I'm not a sinner; at least, I don't think I am, and I've worked all my life at not being one. Was I born a sinner? I can't buy into that either, not for myself. It's the way I look at things, or don't look at them.

It's the way the Constitution says I have the right to look at them.

When I hear that f---ing asshole talking about his personal religious beliefs as if they're part of the Constitution (oh wait, that comes later), it scares the shit out of me. I think, when does my personal belief become illegal? When is it going to be illegal just to be me? Not because I'm Jewish; that'll just make it easier to find me, since I won't be having my butt parked somewhere in a church, so I won't appear on a list of the faithful. When are they going to come looking for everybody who is different, who doesn't think like they do -- the Bushies?

He wants to pass a Constitutional Amendment that says marriage has to be between a man and a woman.

Doesn't our Constitution have anything better to be about, like important stuff? Why is it so important to him/them who's doing what to whom in the privacy of their own homes? Why is anyone's sexuality ever an issue unless it's yours or your partner's? Why does anyone care?

So there we are. He's all in favor of people who are gay because he loves sinners; he doesn't want them to be gay, but he loves them anyway. He thinks everyone should be a Christian because it would be good for them and they'd go to heaven and all. I just happen to think differently, but he doesn't seem to allow for that. So I can either go to hell, literally, or change my mind.

Or maybe move on. He's just getting to me today, is all; at least, I hope that's all it is. He can't have more than 8 years, right? We survived Nixon, right? And Reagan?

Marn, got any room up there? My gay friends and I may be looking for some land in Canada one of these days.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Felicity
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here