the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Mush Head 198

08.01.2003

1:25 pm

Just a day, that's all. It's gloomy and maybe rainy, and will continue to be so until Tuesday, they say. Which is okay with me. It's perfect basement cleaning weather (I promise to start tomorrow, really) and we're driving down to see the MIL/FIL on Sunday; rotten weather is a plus for this. If Sunday is a nice day, we're screwed, since everyone in north Jersey will be traveling down the Garden State Parkway to the shore, and we'll be in there with them, as the ILS live in that general area, where all the old folk in New Jersey have gone to retire. So a yucky day is good for us as it means no traffic.

I spent the last hour or two printing out pictures I've been taking, many of which are posted on my fotolog. I'm making a little scrapbook/album for Hubs, I guess now for his September birthday, and not Christmas. So the pictures are printed. All I need now is to sort them, select them, make up the layout, and make the whole scrapbook. Hmm.

Here's an easy Friday Five:

1. What time do you wake up on weekday mornings?
If I'm talking about during the school year, I set my alarm for 5:30. In the summer, on days when I have to drive R to work, I set it for 6:30. Otherwise, I may sleep as late as 7:00. Nine times out of ten, I wake up before the alarm goes off.

2. Do you sleep in on the weekends? How late?
Sometimes I manage to sleep until 7:00, but I generally wake up around 6:00.

3. Aside from waking up, what is the first thing you do in the morning?
I brush my teeth. On my way from bed to bathroom, however, I walk around the bed to the window, peek out between the blinds, straighten the comforter at the bottom of the bed on my way back, and then get to the bathroom. No idea why I need to look at the window. Maybe it's to make sure that everything's still there.

4. How long does it take to get ready for your day?
On a typical summer day, I could be out of the house 5 minutes after I wake up. On a workday, it takes a half hour to shower, dress, dry hair, and put on make-up; the second half hour is for email, diaries, and coffee. I leave the house for work about 6:30.

5. When possible, what is your favorite place to go for breakfast?
I rarely eat breakfast at home, but I love breakfast food and could eat it any time of day. Years ago, when my sister and I and our kids drove to Florida, we were introduced to the magic of Shoney's and its breakfast buffet. I love a Shoney's breakfast. There's only one Shoney's in New Jersey, about an hour and a half away. We've been there.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Saturday Night Live
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here