the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Where Was I? 215

08.23.2003

5:37 pm

Somehow, it was easier to deal with the ankle when I didn't know it was sprained. Now I have a brace on it (which is what I wanted, I suppose) but it makes going up and down stairs a real ordeal. This means that the remaining basement, as well as K's attic room, are difficult to work on, even on a small scale. Now I have a decided Walter Brennan-ish walk, which was charming on him but on me, not so much.

Missing K somewhat, as she is very good company. R is more likely to watch what she wants on TV when she gets to it first, or to leave the room when she comes in and doesn't like what I'm watching. She is more likely to be picky about my little remarks than K, who will get that I'm kidding and just laugh. A more independent spirit R, and likes to remind me. All okay. Like the little girl with the curl, when she's good, she's very good. They're all different.

Going through yet another box of basement papers that I had brought up last week, I came across gems such as letters from my grandfather (1965), the tax return that the state of NJ claimed I never sent in and I was indignant about back in May (1999, they were right), all of my high school poetry, everything from paper, but now I have all that writing to go through. Nice task for a snow day, heaven forbid, come January.

The vegan Hubs. His vegan-ness was not so much an issue on the D.C. trip, since we picked a Japanese restaurant. We always try to pick a restaurant where he can eat. He is not appreciative of this, and in fact, always seems annoyed that anyone has taken notice of his eating-style difference. Uh-huh. We have also seen him sit at a restaurant table, arms folded, while the rest of us eat. Trust me, no one ever wants to see a repetition of this. Ever. But it looked as if this was pretty much a meat-only Japanese restaurant (how about that) until we found the veggie tempura. Good thing it was only 100 degrees out. But then I had it too and it was damn good. So he ate something.

The Hubs also does not travel, which I mentioned as well. I suggested to R today that she might not expect him to visit her in Wales. But on the way home in the car on Wednesday, he said this: "I'm going to say something that's completely out of character for me?"

My answer: "Where are you going? Or what are you buying?"

And he suggested that next year, after dropping off K at school in DC, he and I take a **gasp** vacation for a few days, and tour the Civil War battlefields in northern Virginia (Antietam, etc.) and then swing up into Pennsylvania and spend a few days at Gettysburg.

Damn good thing I wasn't driving. We haven't taken a vacation in ... oh ... eleven years, the last one was the summer before the brain tumor. That's a vacation together, folks. I take vacations. I got to DisneyWorld whenver I can with anyone who'll go with me. And the occasional family visit elsewhere. But the Hubs, no travel for him.

Even though I've been suggesting Gettysburg to him for years, since his Civil War addiction began to grow serious. (He's not a re-enacter or anything, just reads and watches a lot.) It's a short drive from here, even, maybe three or four hours, tops. It's nice there. I'm willing to go, and go for him. He's such an idiot sometimes, really.

So now that it's his idea, maybe we'll even go. If we do, I won't be the only one in shock, as the kids will be amazed as well.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Saturday Night Live
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here