the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Things to Come 219

08.28.2003

8:10 pm

R is away for the long weekend, visiting for the last time before she leaves for Wales with her college buddies who are still there, and K is, of course, at school in DC. So it's a taste of the quiet things to come, when both of them are gone again. And it is quiet. I've done a very good job of concentrating on R's going away as a wonderful, exciting opportunity for her, which it is. And I know I'm going to visit her there. But it is starting to sink in that my baby is going to live in Europe for a year. A year. How the hell do you like that.

I've got to thank weetabix for using this in her diary today: brain cloud. That's it. That's what I've been looking for, I think. Earlier today, I was at the Sibs' house, and she was trying to explain a concept to her 13 year old (who is adopted, her husband's natural child, and so hasn't lived with her since birth), a Yiddish-like word that she and I pronounce shvarhh. The real word is probably closer to shvarghh, with an extreme guttural sound of disgust at the end, but since we use it to mean a feeling of bleah, malaise, no energy, we don't have what it takes to make the noise. We've always said it when we feel eh: I feel shvarhh. But I like brain cloud a lot. My kids claim that I'm the only person who's ever actually watched Joe Versus the Volcano. Apparantly, not true.

Speaking of brain clouds, I'm thinking that melwadel's experiences at work today are also foreshadowing my return to work next week. I went in this morning only to find out that the two district computer techs, hereafter known as the Boy Tech Baby (he's one year older than my daughter) and the Girl Tech Baby (one year younger) have made all kinds of sweeping changes in the way the Internet is managed at the high school. Oh wait, that would correctly be the way I manage the Internet at the high school. Without telling me. Or consulting me. Like they changed all the teachers' usernames. Surprise! Well, I flipped out, which I really never do, and told the Girl Tech Baby that from now on, it's all hers; I'm not doing nothing no more. (No, I said it better than that.) Well, The Psycho (my principal) called an hour ago and said she's going to have it all straightened out, and the Tech Babies' supervisor is calling me tomorrow morning. We shall see, chickies, we shall see. School starts on Tuesday.

Which, by the by, is the Hubs' half-century mark. It was a big freaking deal for me; I loved it. He probably won't even notice.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Friends
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here